Search text
No.
Brand
181
Lot No. 181*
99th
Estimate  9,000 - 15,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Master's Mark "NR" (Nikolaus I Rugendas, Augsburg), Height 315 mm

, circa 1635

A figure clock with hour strike of museum quality, "Virgin Mary with Mandorla" - a rare example of a late, so-called "cercles tournants" clock


Case: bronze and brass, firegilt, chased, moulded ebony base with glazed sides, rear bell. Dial: silvered crown with revolving circlet and engraved hours. Movm.: brass full-plate movement, brass train, monogram "A.N.R." (Augustianus Nikolaus Rugendas) and Augsburg town mark "Pyr", chain/fusee for going train, barrel for striking train, count wheel, 1 hammer, verge escapement, two-arm balance with balance spring.

The cover plate of the rectangular, moulded ebony base on bun feet is engraved with a checkered pattern, the base has glass panels on front and back. The plate supports the exquisitely engraved firegilt bronze figure of the Madonna with child. She carries baby Jesus in her right arm and is surrounded by a mandorla of flames. The Madonna wears a crown with a revolving circlet with the hours engraved. Time is indicated through a blued scepter in her hand.

In 1980/81 the "Virgin Mary with Mandorla" was on loan to two exhibitions in Munich and in Washington, respectively: In 1980 it was part of "Die Welt als Uhr" (the clockwork universe) in the Bavarian national museum and of "The Clockwork Universe" in the National Museum of American History and Technology (Smithsonian Institution). Both exhibitions were exceptionally successful - in Munich alone the exhibition attracted more than 82.000 visitors. The catalogue published by Klaus Maurice and Otto Mayr shows and describes the "Virgin Mary with Mandorla" on pages 238 and 239 as one of the exhibits.

This clock is illustrated and described in Klaus Maurice, "Die deutsche Räderuhr", Vol. II, Munich 1976, Fig. 394.

Provenance:
- USA, private collection
#48185
Case: very good, slightly worn
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, repaired, capable of running, cleaning recommended


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 9000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
181
Katalog Nr. 181*
99.
Schätzpreis  9.000 - 15.000 €
Dies ist eine Losnummer aus einer früheren Auktion!

Meistermarke "NR" (Nikolaus I Rugendas, Augsburg), Höhe 315 mm

, circa 1635

Museale Figurenuhr mit Stundenselbstschlag "Madonna im Strahlenkranz" - ein seltenes Beispiel einer später "cercles tournants" bezeichneten Uhr


Geh.: Bronze und Messing, feuervergoldet, ziseliert, profilierter Ebenholzsockel mit seitlicher Verglasung, Bodenglocke. Ziffbl.: versilberte Krone mit horizontal beweglichem Stirnreifen und gravierten Stunden. Werk: Messing-Vollplatinenwerk, Messingräderwerk, monogrammiert "A.N.R." (Augustianus Nikolaus Rugendas) und Augsburger Pyr, Kette/Schnecke für Gehwerk, Federhaus für Schlagwerk, Schlossscheibe, 1 Hammer, Spindelhemmung, zweiarmige Unruh mit Unruhspirale.

Auf den profilierten, rechteckigen, vorne und hinten verglasten Ebenholzsockel mit gedrückten Kugelfüßen ist eine mit Rauten gravierte Platte montiert. In deren Mitte erhebt sich die fein ziselierte, feuervergoldete Bronzestatuette der Madonna mit Jesuskind. Sie ist umgeben von einer großen Flammengloriole und trägt das Jesuskind auf ihrem rechten Arm. In ihrer Linken hält sie ein gebläutes Zepter, mit dem sie die Stunden im horizontal beweglichen Stirnreifen ihrer Krone auf dem Haupt anzeigt.

Diese "Strahlenkranzmadonna" war in den Jahren 1980/81 als Leihgabe Bestandteil zweier Ausstellungen in München und Washington: 1980 im Bayerischen Nationalmuseum in der Ausstellung "Die Welt als Uhr" und im National Museum of American History and Technology (Smithsonian Institution) in der Ausstellung "The Clockwork Universe". Beide Museen hatten mit dieser Ausstellung großen Erfolg, allein in München kamen mehr als 82000 Besucher. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erschien ein gleichnamiger Katalog, herausgegeben von Klaus Maurice und Otto Mayr, in dem die "Madonnenstatuette" als Exponat auf den Seiten 238 und 239 abgebildet und beschrieben ist.

Diese Uhr ist außerdem abgebildet und beschrieben in Klaus Maurice, "Die deutsche Räderuhr", Band II, München 1976, Abb. 394.

Provenienz:
- USA Privatsammlung
#48185
Geh.: sehr gut, leicht abgenutzt
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, Reparaturen, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen


×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 9000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen