help
 
Lot No. 623 (89th Auction)
Excelsior - Excelsiorwerke Cöln-Nippes (EWC), circa 1912

A rare and early dictating machine in a wooden case, a so-called "Parlograph"
Case: metal table top unit, chest shaped and lidded, electric motor, mechanical recording and reproducing device, extensive accessories: several wax cylinders, mouth piece, tube, headphones.

The "Parlograph"
The Parlograph was an early dictating machine developed by Swedish engineer and manufacturer Carl Lindström in Berlin. Lindström’s device, which he started producing in 1913, was based on Thomas Alva Edison’s Phonograph. Advertisements presented the machine as a replacement for shorthand.
The Parlograph had a wax cylinder and a mouth piece for mechanical recording and reproduction. The cylinder was powered by 110 V electrical current. The machine was sold in various European countries from 1913 on but production was disrupted by World War I. From 1916 on the Parlograph was also offered by the American Parlograph Corporation.
The author Franz Kafka immortalized the Parlograph as a bizarre instrument of torture in his short story "In der Strafkolonie" (In the Penal Colony, 1914). In a 1913 letter to his girlfriend Felice Bauer Kafka jokingly wrote: "Isn’t it a funny thought that a Parlograph in Berlin and a Phonograph in Prague are talking and having a little conversation over the telephone…"
Source: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parlograph, as of 02/11/2014

Excelsior - Excelsiorwerke Cöln-Nippes (EWC)
EWC were possibly the largest cylinder phonograph manufacturer in Germany. They were based in Cologne. EWC produced phonographs not only under their own name, but also manufactured for other companies, such as UK Lambert.
Source: http://www.noedison.com/ewc.shtml, as of 11/02/2014
Estimate  1,500 - 2,500 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Place a bid on
Minimum bid 1500 €
Your maximum bid (100 € steps)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!

Hilfe
 
Katalog Nr. 623 (89. Auktion)
Excelsior - Excelsiorwerke Cöln-Nippes (EWC), circa 1912

Seltener früher Diktierapparat im Holzgehäuse, sogenannter "Parlograph"
Geh.: Tischgerät Metall, Truhenform mit Deckel, Elektromotor, mechanische Aufnahme- und Wiedergabevorrichtung, umfangreiches Zubehör: verschiedene Wachswalzen, Schalltrichter, Hörschlauch, Kopfhörer.

Der Parlograph
Der Parlograph war ein frühes Diktiergerät, das der in Berlin lebende schwedische Techniker und Fabrikant Carl Lindström aus dem von Thomas Alva Edison erfundenen Phonographen entwickelte und ab 1913 herstellte. Die Werbung präsentierte das Gerät als Ersatz für die Stenographie.
Der Parlograph besaß eine Wachswalze und einen Schalltrichter für mechanische Aufnahme und Wiedergabe. Die Walze wurde bereits elektrisch mit einer Spannung von 110 V angetrieben. Ab 1913 wurde das Gerät in verschiedenen europäischen Ländern verkauft. Die Herstellung wurde durch den Ersten Weltkrieg unterbrochen. Ab 1916 wurde der Parlograph auch von der American Parlograph Corp. angeboten.
Der Schriftsteller Franz Kafka hat den Parlographen in seiner Erzählung "In der Strafkolonie" (1914) als groteskes Folterinstrument verewigt. Seine Freundin Felice Bauer arbeitete in einem Unternehmen, das Parlographen verkaufte. In einem Brief von 1913 schrieb Kafka scherzend an Felice: "Übrigens ist die Vorstellung ganz hübsch, dass in Berlin ein Parlograph zum Telefon geht und in Prag ein Grammophon, und diese zwei eine kleine Unterhaltung miteinander führen."
Quelle: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parlograph, Stand 11.02.2014

Excelsior - Excelsiorwerke Cöln-Nippes (EWC)
Die EWC mit Sitz in Köln waren wahrscheinlich der größte Hersteller von Walzen-Phonographen in Deutschland. Sie produzierten nicht nur Phonographen unter ihrem eigenen Namen, sondern stellten sie auch für andere Firmen wie zum Beispiel UK Lambert her.
Quelle: http://www.noedison.com/ewc.shtml, Stand 11.02.2014
Schätzpreis  1.500 - 2.500 €
Aus einer früheren Auktion!

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben für
Mindestgebot: 1500 €
Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!