Search text
No.
Brand
122
Lot No. 122*
Estimate  8,500 - 10,500 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Lepine à Paris "Invenit et Fecit", Horologer de Roy, Paris

, Case No. 5659, 51 mm, 85 g, circa 1789

A gentleman's extremely rare, half pearl-set gold enamel pocket watch with Lépine's wolf's-tooth train


Case: 18k gold, back with engine-turned pattern and translucent green enamelling; round central cartouche with gouache painting: Personification of Music with harp, flute and sheet of music, and small putto. Half pearl borders on front and back, bow and pendant; case maker's punch mark "GM" (Guillaume Mermillod). Dial: enamel, combined Arabic/Roman numerals, signed: "Lepine invenit et fecit", pierced "Fleur de Lys" gold hands. Movm.: Lépine" caliber, frosted, firegilt, wolf's tooth going barrel, cylinder escapement, three-arm ring balance, wolf's-tooth train for going mechanism.

Jean-Antonine Lépine (1720-1814)
Lépine went to Paris in 1744 to work in the shop of André-Charles Caron. He later married Caron's daughter and obtained his master craftsman's certificate in 1756. Lépine became known in 1763 when he invented a new striking mechanism for pocket watches, which was made public in the "Mémoires de l'Académie des Sciences" in 1766. Lépine was appointed clockmaker to the king in 1765; he took over his father-in-law's workshop a year later. His idea of replacing the backplate with bridges and cocks made the service of the watches much easier and achieved his breakthrough in 1770. He formed a partnership with Claude-Pierre Raguet in 1792 and called himself "Horloger du Roi" from then on.

Lepine Caliber
This is one of the first watches with a design based on the principles and horological inventions of Lepine. It has the typical early Lepine layout that is now called Lepine's caliber; it was constructed around 1770 and employes wolf-tooth wheels - Lepine was the first to use these wheels to strengthen the gearing. The design also uses his repeating system "The King's Mechanical Expert", invented in 1763 and published 1766 in "Mémoir of the Académie des Sciences". It was a revolutionary mechanism where the hour and quarter racks were placed directly on the winding arbor, eliminating the fragile winding chain.
The watch is also important because it advances our knowledge of Lepine's manufacturing practices. The ebauche maker responsible for it was most probabely Descombaz, the most important maker of ebauches for Breguet and Lepine. George Washington bought a Lepine watch (without repeating) in April 1789, which is now the collection of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
#38771
Case: very good, slightly chipped
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 8500 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
122
Katalog Nr. 122*
Schätzpreis  8.500 - 10.500 €
Dies ist eine Losnummer aus einer früheren Auktion!

Lepine à Paris "Invenit et Fecit", Horologer de Roy, Paris

, Geh. Nr. 5659, 51 mm, 85 g, circa 1789

Extrem seltene, halbperlenbesetzte Goldemail Herrentaschenuhr mit Lépines wolfsverzahntem Räderwerk


Geh.: 18Kt Gold, die Rückseite guillochiert und transluzid grün emailliert, im Zentrum runde Kartusche mit Gouache Malerei: Personifikation der Musik mit Harfe, Flöte und Notenblatt und einem kleinen Putto. Halbperlenbesetzte Randbordüre auf der Vorder- und Rückseite, Bogen und Pendant; Gehäusemacher-Punzzeichen "GM" (Guillaume Mermillod). Ziffbl.: Email, kombinierte arab./röm. Zahlen, signiert: "Lepine invenit et fecit", durchbrochen gearbeitete "Fleur de Lys"-Goldzeiger. Werk: "Lépine"-Kaliber, gekörnt, feuervergoldet, wolfsverzahntes "fliegendes" Federhaus, Zylinderhemmung, dreiarmige Ringunruh, wolfsverzahntes Räderwerk für Gehwerk.

Jean-Antonine Lépine (1720-1814)
Im Jahre 1744 ging Lépine nach Paris, um in der Werkstatt von André-Charles Caron zu arbeiten. Nach der Hochzeit mit Carons Tochter legte er 1756 die Meisterprüfung ab. Lépine wurde 1763 bekannt, als er eine neuartige Mechanik für Taschenuhren mit Schlagwerk erfand, die 1766 in den "Mémoires de l'Académie des Sciences" veröffentlicht wurde. 1765 ernannte man ihn zum "Horloger du Roi", ein Jahr später übernahm er die Werkstatt seines Schwiergervaters Caron. Durch sein Konzept, die Rückplatine durch Brücken und Kloben zu ersetzten, um die Wartung der Uhren wesentlich zu erleichtern, gelang ihm 1770 der Durchbruch. 1792 bildete er eine Partnerschaft mit Claude-Pierre Raguet und nannte sich fortan "Horloger du Roi".

Lépine-Kaliber
Diese Uhr hat die für die frühen Lepine-Uhren aus den 1770er Jahren typische Anordnung, die man heute als Lepine-Kaliber bezeichnet; die Wolfsverzahnung, die Lepine als erster einsetzte, um das Räderwerk zu schützen sowie auch den Repetitionsmechanismus, den Lepine 1763 erfunden und 1766 in „Mémoir of the Académie des Sciences“ veröffentlicht hatte: "The King’s Mechanical Expert". Es handelte sich hierbei um eine bahnbrechende Konstruktion, bei der die Stunden- und Viertelstundenrechen direkt auf die Aufzugswelle aufgebracht wurden – und die somit die empfindliche Aufzugskette eliminierte.
Die vorliegende Uhr verschafft uns auch neue Kenntnisse über Lepines Produktionsmethode. Der Hersteller des Rohwerkes war höchstwarscheinlich Descombaz; er war einer der wichtigsten unter Lépins und Breguets Rohwerkherstellern. George Washington besaß seit April 1789 eine seiner Uhren (ohne Repetition), sie befindet sich heute in der Sammlung der Historical Society of Pennsylvania.

#38771
Geh.: sehr gut, kleine Abplatzung
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen


×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 8500 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!