Search text
No.
Brand
189
Lot No. 189*
Estimate  16,000 - 30,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Francois & August Meylan à Genève

, Case No. 25569, 43 mm, 37 g, circa 1844

A shooter’s remarkable and exquisite gold enamel watch, presented by the Geneva cantonal police on the occasion of the Swiss Federal Rifle Championship 1844 in Basle and commemorating the 400 year anniversary of the battle of St. Jakob near Basle / "Offert par les Carabiniers du Canton de Genève au Tir Fédéral de Bâle, 1844"


Case: gold, back with opaque enamelling: central rectangular enamel cartouche with battle scene, copperplate engraving style. Polychrome escutcheon listing the commanders who died in the battle: Seevogel-Reding-Walter-Brandli-Hofsteller-Seiler-Schick-Nestalier. The shield is flanked by two medallions showing figures in tears. Military equipment and Swiss cantonal flags at the sides, two lions and cantonal coat of arms at the top; reeded band, engraved pendant, case maker's punch mark "FM". Dial: silvered, lavish floral engravings, eccentric chapter ring with inlaid radial Roman numerals, visible balance with steel mask at "12", Breguet hands. Movm.: full plate movement, bagnolet caliber, keywind, lavishly florally engraved, partly gilt and silvered, engraved inscription: "Offert par les carabiniers du Canton de Genève au Tir Fédéral de Bâle 1844" ("Commemorative watch of the Geneva cantonal police on the occasion of the Swiss Federal Rifle Championship 1844 in Basle "), cylinder escapement.

Bagnolet Caliber
In the bagnolet caliber the movement is inverted and the train reversed. The idea was to make a very thin watch by reducing the thickness of the bridges and the dial and to eliminate the cuvette. Philippe Samuel Meylan is credited with the invention of the bagnolet caliber.
#39703
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 16000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!

Hilfe
 
Katalog Nr. 189*
Francois & August Meylan à Genève, Geh. Nr. 25569, 43 mm, 37 g, circa 1844

Außergewöhnliche, exquisite Goldemail-Schützenuhr präsentiert von der Genfer Kantonspolizei anlässlich des Eidgenössischen Ehr- und Freischiessen zu Basel nebst der vierten Sekularfeier der Schlacht bei St. Jakob (Basel) im Jahre 1844 / "Offert par les Carabiniers du Canton de Genève au Tir Fédéral de Bâle, 1844".
Geh.: Gold, die Rückseite opak emailliert: im Zentrum rechteckige Emailkartusche mit Schlachtenszene in der Manier eines Kupferstiches. Darunter eine polychrome Wappentafel mit den Namen in der Schlacht gefallener Heerführer: Seevogel-Reding-Walter-Brandli-Hofsteller-Seiler-Schick-Nestalier, flankiert von zwei Medaillons mit weinenden Figuren. Kriegsgerät und schweizer Kantonsfahnen zu den Seiten, zwei Löwen und Kantonswappen oben; rändiertes Mittelteil, gravierter Pendant, Gehäusemacher-Punzzeichen "FM". Ziffbl.: versilbert, aufwändig floral graviert, exzentrischer Ziffernring mit eingelegten radialen röm. Zahlen, sichtbare Unruh vor Stahlfond bei "12", Breguet-Zeiger. Werk: Vollplatinenwerk, "Bagnolet Kaliber", Schlüsselaufzug, aufwändig floral graviert und teilweise vergoldet und versilbert, gravierter Schriftzug: "Offert par les carabiniers du Canton de Genève au Tir Fédéral de Bâle, 1844" ("Gedenkuhr der Genfer Kantonspolizei anlässlich des Eidgenössischen Schützenfestes von 1844 in Basel"), Zylinderhemmung.

Bagnolet Kaliber
Im Bagnolet Kaliber ist das Uhrwerk invertiert. Man beabsichtigte durch die Reduzierung der Brückenstärke, des Zifferblattes und durch die Entfernung der Cuvette eine ultraflache Uhr zu produzieren. Die Erfindung des Bagnolet Kalibers wird Philippe Samuel Meylan zugeschrieben.
Schätzpreis  16.000 - 30.000 €

Realisierter Preis 40.400 €
Aus einer früheren Auktion!

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben für
Mindestgebot: 16000 €
Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!