Search text
No.
Brand
202
Lot No. 202*
Estimate  45,000 - 60,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Honoré Pons à Paris, Invente & Exécuté, An XII (24. Sept. 1803 - 23. Sept. 1804), "Echappement & Remontoir", Height 770 mm

, circa 1804

An important dead centre seconds precision regulator with one-second constant force detent escapement


Case: mahogany, veneered, glazed front, moulded, Dial: brass, firegilt, eccentric silvered chapter ring with radial Roman hours, the centre with visible and complex escapement section, outer silvered chapter ring with Arabic seconds for centre seconds, gilt Breguet hands, Movm.: round brass full plate movement, gilt, 2 barrels, brass/steel/gridiron pendulum with pendulum spring suspension, facetted brass bob, adjusting nut, temperature indicator.

This seems to be an unrecorded variation of the escapement invented by Berthoud, with a constant force mechanism applied to it. The elaborate concept and the fine finishing of the clock strongly support Pons' reputation as one of the best makers of his period, as de Thury describes him.

Honoré Pons
Honoré Pons was one of the most renowned French clockmakers of his time; he worked in Saint Nicolas d'Aliermont from 1807 on. In 1819 Viscount Hericart de Thury wrote that a great number of eminent clockmakers "such as the Breguets, the Berthouds, the Janviers, the Robins, the Lepautes, the Bourdiers and the Pons…" were "known in the sciences of astronomy and physics…". Pons was an exceptionally resourceful maker of watches and clocks who designed and built the machinery for making his clocks himself. He invented his own type of movements and sold them to other watchmakers like Brocot; these movements are today known as Pons calibers. Pons frequently exhibited at fairs and was awarded numerous prizes and medals. When he died, he left a bequest of 1,000 francs to help watchmakers in need.
"Les Ouvriers du Temps", Jean-Dominique Augarde, Editions Antiquorum, Geneva, 1996. "Dictionnaire des Horlogers Français", Tardy, Paris, 1972.
#40974
Case: very good, slightly chipped
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 45000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
202
Katalog Nr. 202*
Schätzpreis  45.000 - 60.000 €
Dies ist eine Losnummer aus einer früheren Auktion!

Honoré Pons à Paris, Invente & Exécuté, An XII (24. Sept. 1803 - 23. Sept. 1804), "Echappement & Remontoir", Höhe 770 mm

, circa 1804

Bedeutender Präzisionsregulator mit ruhender Zentralsekunde und Ein-Sekunden Chronometerhemmung mit konstanter Kraft


Geh.: Mahagoni, furniert, frontverglast, profiliert. Ziffbl.: Messing, feuervergoldet, dezentraler versilberter Ziffernring mit radialen röm. Stunden, Zentrum mit sichtbarer, komplexer Hemmungspartie, äußerer versilberter Ziffernring mit arabischen Sekunden für Zentralsekunde, vergoldete Breguet-Zeiger. Werk: rundes Messing-Vollplatinenwerk, vergoldet, 2 Federhäuser, Messing-/Stahl-Rostkompensationspendel mit Pendelfederaufhängung, facettierte Messingpendellinse, Justiermutter, Temperaturanzeige.

Es handelt sich hier wohl um eine undokumentierte Variante mit konstanter Kraft der von Berthoud erfundenen Hemmung. Das ausgefeilte Konzept und die hervorragende Fertigung der Uhr werden Pons' Ruf als einer der besten Uhrmacher seiner Zeit gerecht, wie er von de Thury auch beschrieben wird.

Honoré Pons
Honoré Pons war einer der berühmtesten französischen Uhrmacher seiner Zeit; er war ab 1807 in Saint Nicolas d'Aliermont tätig. Im Jahr 1819 schrieb der Viscount Hericart de Thury, dass eine große Zahl bedeutender Uhrmacher "wie die Breguets, die Berthouds, die Janviers, die Robins, die Lepautes, die Bourdiers und die Pons… in den Wissenschaften der Astronomie und der Physik bestens bekannt waren…". Pons war ein genialer Uhrmacher, der die Maschinen für die Herstellung seiner Uhren selbst anfertigte. Er entwickelte eigene Werkstypen, die er an andere Uhrmacher wie Brocot verkaufte; heute sind diese Werke als "Pons-Kaliber" bekannt. Pons stellte häufig auf Messen aus und wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen und Medaillen ausgezeichnet. Als er starb hinterließ er ein Legat von 1.000 Francs zur Unterstützung notleidender Uhrmacher.
"Les Ouvriers du Temps", Jean-Dominique Augarde, Editions Antiquorum, Genf, 1996. "Dictionnaire des Horlogers Français", Tardy, Paris, 1972.
#40974
Geh.: sehr gut, kleine Abplatzung
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig


×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 45000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!