Search text
No.
Brand
61
Lot No. 61
Estimate  100,000 - 150,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Attributed to Pierre Simon Gounouilhou, 59 mm, 135 g

, circa 1810

An important gold enamel pocket watch with seven automatons "The Dutch Kitchen" - one of the most successful automata produced in Geneva in the early 19th century. There are fewer than a dozen "Kitchen" automata known.


Case: 18k pink gold, glazed back with a polychrome enamelled genre painting and an applied four colour gold automaton scene. Dial: enamel. Movm.: bridge movement, keywind, chain/fusee, 2 barrels, cylinder escapement, three-arm brass balance.

The four-colour gold automaton scene shows a Dutch kitchen where the following sequences are performed:
1. On the left, a maidservant works at a spinning wheel
2. The spinning wheel turns
3. In the centre a fire blazes in the hearth
4. A couple of chickens turn on a spit
5. On the right, a jumping dog in a wheel drives the spit
6. The spit
7. On the far right, water runs from a fountain

In the foreground a chased scene shows a cat with its kittens in a basket; to its right another maidservant sits on the floor. The enamel background is decorated with polychrome painting and displays the rest of the kitchen equipment.

The automaton is independent of the watch movement; it is operated by a barrel with train that activates it via cams and levers.

A very similar piece is owned by the Patek Philippe Museum (Vol. IV, p. 37, inventory no. S-962).

The first automatons were developed in the late 18th century in Geneva - they were small masterpieces that were able to imitate the movements of living creatures or objects. Some of them were also fitted with musical movements. These marvellous works of art were highly sought after, not only in Europe but also in the Chinese or Ottoman empires.
Produced in the early 19th century, the "Dutch kitchen" is one of the most striking and rarest pieces of its kind due to its complexity - it was also one of the favourite motifs created by Geneva watchmaker Pierre Simon Gounouilhou (1779-1847).
Less than a dozen of these kitchen automatons are known today and they are all owned by renowned collections and museums. Another one is illustrated and described in "Histoire et Technique de La Montre Suisse", 1945 by E. Jaquet and A. Chapuis, and in "Le Monde des Automates", Paris 1928 by A. Chapuis and E. Gelis.

Today, French Protestant Pierre-Simon Gounouilhou (1779-1847) is regarded as "one of the greats" - a maker of outstanding creativity and originality who had a significant influence on the watchmaking industry in Geneva; in 1799 he had his workshop at Quai Neuf en l'Isle no. 241 in Geneva. Gounouilhou created a large number of striking pieces such as automatons with or without musical movement, ring watches with virgule escapement and quarter repeater, or Jacquemart automatons. In February 1829 he was one of the petitioners for the installation of a new observatory.
#45013
Case: very good
Dial: very good, hairlines, slightly chipped
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 100000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
61
Katalog Nr. 61
96.
Schätzpreis  100.000 - 150.000 €
Dies ist eine Losnummer aus einer früheren Auktion!

Pierre Simon Gounouilhou zugeschrieben, 59 mm, 135 g

, circa 1810

Bedeutende Goldemail Taschenuhr mit sieben Automaten "Die holländische Küche" - eine der gelungensten und komplexesten Automatenszenen, die in Genf im frühen 19. Jahrhundert hergestellt wurden. Nur noch sehr wenige dieser Automaten sind uns heute bekannt.


Geh.: 18Kt Rotgold, verglaste Rückseite mit polychrom emaillierter Genreszene und vierfarbig goldenen Automaten. Ziffbl.: Email. Werk: Brückenwerk, Schlüsselaufzug, Kette/Schnecke, 2 Federhäuser, Zylinderhemmung, dreiarmige Messingunruh.

Die Automatenszene in vierfarbigem Gold beschreibt eine holländische Küche mit folgenden Bewegungsabläufen:
1. links eine Magd beim Spinnen am Spinnrad
2. das sich drehende Spinnrad
3. in der Mitte ein loderndes Feuer in einer Esse
4. darin ein sich drehender Brathähnchenspieß
5. rechts ein springender Hund in einem Laufrad, der den drehenden Spieß antreibt
6. das Laufrad
7. am rechten Rand Brunnen mit fließendem Wasser

Im Vordergrund eine punzierte Szene einer Katze mit ihren Jungen in einem Korb, rechts daneben eine weitere auf dem Boden sitzende Magd. Der emaillierte Hintergrund ist polychrom bemalt und zeigt das weitere Kücheninterieur.

Der Automat wird werksunabhängig von einem Federhaus und Räderwerk angetrieben, das die Automaten mittels Nocken und Hebeln in Bewegung setzt.

Ein sehr ähnliches Exemplar befindet sich im Patek Philippe Museum (Band IV, S. 37, Inventarnummer S-962).

Die ersten Automaten wurden in Genf Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts entwickelt - kleine Meisterwerke, die Bewegungen von Lebewesen oder Gegenständen nachzuahmen wussten. Einige dieser Stücke wurden obendrein mit Mechanismen ausgestattet, die Musik erzeugen konnten. Der Stellenwert dieser Kunstwerke war sehr hoch, nicht nur auf dem europäischen Kontinent, sondern auch im chinesischen und osmanischen Reich.
Die holländische Küche ist aufgrund ihrer Komplexität eine der beeindruckendsten und zugleich seltensten Automatenuhren des frühen 19. Jahrhunderts und war eines der bevorzugten Sujets des Genfer Uhrmachers Pierre Simon Gounouilhou (1779-1847).
Insgesamt sind heute weniger als ein Dutzend dieser "Küchen"- Automaten bekannt. Sie befinden sich alle in bedeutenden Sammlungen und Museen. Ein weiteres Exemplar ist abgebildet und beschrieben in E. Jaquet und A. Chapuis "Histoire et Technique de La Montre Suisse", von 1945 und bei A Chapuis und E. Gelis, "Le Monde des Automates", Paris, 1928.

Der französische Protestant Pierre-Simon Gounouilhou (1779-1847) gilt heute als ein großer Uhrmacher voller Kreativität und Individualität, der die Uhrmacherindustrie in Genf maßgeblich beeinflusste. Im Jahre 1799 hatte er in Genf, Quai Neuf en l'Isle, Nr. 241 seine Werkstatt. Gounouilhou produzierte eine große Zahl von bemerkenswerten Stücken, wie Automaten, mit und ohne Musikspielwerk, Ringuhren mit Kommahemmung und Viertelstundenrepetition oder Jacquemart-Automaten. Im Februar 1829 war er einer der Unterzeichner einer Petition für den Bau eines neuen Observatoriums.
#45013
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut, Haarrisse, kleine Abplatzung
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen


×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 100000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen