Search text
No.
Brand
<409>
Lot No. 409
Lot No. 409
Estimate  8,500 - 15,000 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

Eardley Norton, London, Height 580 mm

, circa 1890

An important Victorian bracket clock with calendar, moon phase, half hour/hour strike and exceptional musical movement playing eight tunes, one of them the national anthem of the United Kingdom: "God Save the King". The musical movement uses a barrel with pins and releases either automatically or on demand


Case: oak, veneered, ebonized, firegilt brass mountings, brass base. Dial: brass, firegilt, silver and blued steel. Movm.: solid rectangular brass movement, elaborately engraved with flower tendrils, 3 x chain/fusee for clock, strike and tunes, 20 hammers/12 bells, large, mounted barrel with pins, additional hammer and bell for half hour/hour strike, anchor escapement, governor, short pendulum with silk string suspension.

The ebonized, moulded body is supported by a rectangular brass base on four brass bun feet. Front and back with glass panels, the front ornamented with brass fittings and silk-lined silver lattices to cover the sound holes. The open-work, cut-out corners with engraved galant scenes are also lined with red silk. Inverted top with brass handle, the four corners decorated with a pine cone each.
The spandrels of the brass dial are intricately embellished with chased, applied floral ornaments. The spaces between the Roman hours on the applied silver chapter ring have been engraved with rocailles; inside the ring, three windows display the calendar: a cut-out with a figural engraving between 9 and 10 o’clock shows the month with its length in a separate small window; a window between 2 and 3 o’clock displays the day of the week with its engraved planetary symbol; a date window sits at 6 o’clock and Eardley Norton’s screwed on signature plaque is positioned at 12 o’clock. The cut-out for the moon phase and two figural engravings depicting day and night are shown in the arched section above the dial. A silver semi-circle presents the engraved names of the available tunes: "An Ayre", "The Happy Clown", "Cotilon", "Lovely Nancy", "Grenadiers March", "God Save the King", "March in Scipio", "An Hornpyp".

Eardley Norton was, in his time, a renowned and famous maker who produced complicated astronomical and musical clocks as well as pocket watches; many of his timepieces are in museums today. Some of his clocks have been signed "Yeldrae Notron", which is his name spelled backwards - it is possible that this was intended to distinguish them as a kind of second quality. King George III bought one of Norton’s astronomical clocks and it is still in Buckingham Palace, together with a similar piece by Christopher Pinchbeck. Norton was active from around 1760 to 1794, when his workshop in St. John Street was taken over by Gravell & Tolkein. They did business there until at least 1820.
#51128
Case: very good, slightly damaged
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 8500 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<409>
Katalog Nr. 409
Katalog Nr. 409
Schätzpreis  8.500 - 15.000 €
Hier können Sie bis 12 Stunden vor Auktionsbeginn Gebote abgeben.
Danach kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt per E-Mail, Fax oder Telefon.

Eardley Norton, London, Höhe 580 mm

, circa 1890

Bedeutende "Victorian" Bracket Clock mit Kalender, Mondphase, Halbstunden- / Stundenselbstschlag und phantastisch, mit acht Melodien aufspielendem Musikspielwerk, darunter die englische Nationalhymne "God Save the King". Das Walzenspielwerk ist selbst auslösend und spielt auch nach Anforderung


Geh.: Eiche, furniert, ebonisiert, feuervergoldete Messingbeschläge, Messingsockel. Ziffbl.: Messing, feuervergoldet, Silber und gebläuter Stahl. Werk: massives Rechteckform-Messingwerk, reich mit Blütenranken graviert, 3 x Kette/Schnecke für Geh-, Schlag- und Musikwerk, 20 Hämmer/12 Glocken, große verstiftete Walze, zusätzlicher Hammer und Glocke für Halbstunden- / Stundenselbstschlag, Ankerhemmung, Fliehkraftbremse, Kurzpendel mit Fadenaufhängung.

Der ebonisierte, profilierte Korpus erhebt sich auf einem rechteckigen Messingsockel mit vier gedrückten Messing Kugelfüßen. Front- und Rückseite sind verglast, die Front mit Messingbeschlägen und silbernem Resonanz Ziergittern dekoriert und mit roter Seide hinterlegt. Ebenso die durchbrochen gearbeiteten, ausgeschnittenen Seiten, die Gravuren galanter Szenen zeigen. Invertierter Dachaufsatz mit Messinggriff, die Ecken verziert mit vier Pinienzapfen.
Die Zwickel des Messingzifferblattes sind mit punzierten Blütenappliken reich verziert. Gravierte Rocaillen finden sich zwischen den röm. Stunden auf dem aufgelegten silbernen Zifferring, in dessen mattiertem Zentrum drei Fenster den Kalender zeigen: Zwischen 9 und 10 Uhr eine segmentförmige Öffnung für die Monatsanzeige mit figürlicher Gravur und extra Fenster für die Monatslänge, entsprechend zwischen 2 und 3 Uhr Öffnung für den Wochentag mit figürlicher Gravur des jeweiligen Tagesplaneten, sowie dessen Symbol. Ein Fenster für das Datum befindet sich bei 6 Uhr, bei 12 Uhr das aufgeschraubte Signaturschild Eardley Nortons. Im Bogenfeld darüber befindet sich der Ausschnitt für die Mondphase, sowie zwei figürliche Gravuren von Tag und Nacht. Den oberen Abschluss bildet ein silberner Halbkreis mit den gravierten Titeln für die Melodienwahl "An Ayre", "The Happy Clown", "Cotilon", "Lovely Nancy", "Grenadiers March", "God Save the King", "March in Scipio", "An Hornpyp".

Eardley Norton war zu seiner Zeit ein bekannter und berühmter Uhrmacher, dessen Erzeugnisse, sowohl komplizierte, astronomische Uhren und Musikuhren, als auch Taschenuhren in vielen Museen zu finden sind. Etliche seiner Uhren sind mit der Umkehrung seines Namens "Yeldrae Notron" signiert und deuten vielleicht eine Art zweiter Qualität an. Eine seiner astronomischen Uhren kaufte der englische König George III. Sie befindet sich, zusammen mit einer ganz ähnlichen von Christopher Pinchbeck, immer noch im Buckingham Palace. Norton arbeitete von ca. 1760 bis 1794; seine Werkstatt in der St. John Street wurde anschließend von Gravell & Tolkein übernommen und bis mindestens 1820 fortgeführt.
#51128
Geh.: sehr gut, kleinste Beschädigungen
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 8500 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen