Search text
No.
Brand
<408>
Lot No. 408
Lot No. 408
Estimate  8,500 - 15,000 €
Price Realised  9,400 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

Charost à Paris / Balthazar Lieutaud, Total Height 990 mm

, circa 1750

A splendid Louis XV cartel clock with bracket, so called "Cartel Sur Console" with half hour/hour strike


Case: green horn-veneered oak, firegilt bronze mountings of finest rocailles and volutes, glazed on three sides, detachable top concealing the bell. Dial: bronze, firegilt, enamel cartouches with radial Roman hours and additional enamel cartouches with Arabic minutes, finely cut iron hands. Movm.: square brass full plate movement, signed, 2 barrels, 1 hammer / 1 bell, verge escapement, short pendulum with silk string suspension.

The bracket is signed with scratched signature "B. Lieutaud" . Balthazar Lieutaud (1720-1780) came from a family of renowned cabinetmakers and was a cousin of a watchmaker of the same name. This might be the reason for him to specialize in the making of these magnificent cases for clocks; he worked with the most famous bronze artists of his time such as Philippe Caffiéri, Charles Grimpelle and Edme Roy. Lieutaud became a master in 1749. His cases house clocks created by great makers such as Charles Le Roy, Ferdinand Berthoud, Robert Robin, Julien Le Roy, Lepaute, Lory and Bourdier. Lieutaud’s early work often reflected the scrolling curves of the Rococo style but from about 1765 he began to adapt to the more modern, neoclassical style. From 1750 on Lieutaud worked in Paris at Rue de la Pelleterie in the clockmakers’ quarter on the Île de la Cité; in 1772 he moved to Rue d'Enfer nearby. After his death, his wife Nicole Godard (1721-1800) continued the business until the mid 1780s, when she sold the majority in the company to Ferdinand Berthoud. In their encyclopaedia of the fine arts, Thieme-Becker state that Lieutaud "produced very expensive cases for long case clocks that were decorated with beautiful bronzes made by Caffiéri".

In his book on "Watchmakers and Clockmakers of the World" Brian Loomes lists three Parisian clockmakers by the name Charost : Jean, who became a master in 1737, Philippe Jacques Charost, a master in 1748 and Jean Francois, Mâitre 1765-1789.

Another clock signed "Charost à Paris" resides at Sanssouci Palace in Potsdam and is attributed to Jean Charost.
#51129
Case: very good, hairlines
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 8500 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<408>
Katalog Nr. 408
Katalog Nr. 408
Schätzpreis  8.500 - 15.000 €
Hier können Sie bis 12 Stunden vor Auktionsbeginn Gebote abgeben.
Danach kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt per E-Mail, Fax oder Telefon.

Charost à Paris / Balthazar Lieutaud, Gesamthöhe 990 mm

, circa 1750

Prunkvolle Louis XV Kartelluhr mit Konsole, so genannte "Cartel Sur Console" mit Halbstunden-/Stundenselbstschlag


Geh.: Eiche, vollflächig mit grünem Horn furniert, feuervergoldete Bonzebeschläge feinst ausgeführter Rocaillen und Voluten, dreiseitig verglast, abnehmbares Oberteil zum Verdecken der Glocke. Ziffbl.: Bronze, feuervergoldet, Emailkartuschen mit radialen röm. Stunden und zusätzliche Emailkartuschen mit arab. Minuten, fein geschnittene Eisenzeiger. Werk: quadratisches Messing-Vollplatinenwerk, signiert, 2 Federhäuser, 1 Hammer / 1 Glocke, Spindelhemmung, Kurzpendel mit Fadenaufhängung.

Auf der Konsole befindet sich die Ritzsignatur B. Lieutaud . Balthazar Lieutaud (1720-1780) stammte aus einer berühmten Familie von Kunsttischlern und war der Cousin des gleichnamigen Uhrmachers. Dies könnte erklären, dass er sich auf die Herstellung herausragender Gehäuse für bedeutende Uhren spezialisierte und mit den wichtigsten "Bronziers" seiner Zeit, wie Philippe Caffiéri, Charles Grimpelle und Edme Roy zusammenarbeitete. Lieutaud erhielt 1749 seine Meisterwürde. Seine Gehäuse beherbergen Uhrwerke großer Uhrmacher wie Charles Le Roy, Ferdinand Berthoud, Robert Robin, Julien Le Roy, Lepaute, Lory und Bourdier. Lieutauds frühe Arbeiten waren in den kurvenreichen Formen des Rokoko gefertigt, passten sich aber ab etwa 1765 dem damals modernen Stil des Neoklassizismus an. Ab 1750 arbeitete Lieutaud in der Rue de la Pelleterie im Uhrmacherviertel auf der Île de la Cité; 1772 zog er in die nahegelegene Rue d'Enfer um. Seine Frau Nicole Godard (1721-1800) führte die Werkstatt nach seinem Tod weiter, bis Mitte der 1780er Jahre. Danach verkaufte sie die Anteilsmehrheit an Ferdinand Berthoud. Thieme-Becker führen in ihrem Lexikon der bildenden Künste an, dass Lieutaud "ausgesprochen teure Gehäuse für Standuhren herstellte, die mit schönen Bronzeskulpturen von Caffiéri verziert waren".

Brian Loomes verzeichnet in seinem Standardwerk "Watchmakers and Clockmakers of the World" drei Pariser Uhrmacher mit dem Namen Charost : Jean, der 1737 seine Meisterwürde erlangte, Philippe Jacques Charost, der 1748 zum Meister ernannt wurde und Jean Francois, Mâitre 1765-1789.

Eine weitere Uhr mit der Signatur "Charost à Paris", befindet sich im Schloss Sanssouci in Potsdam und wird Jean Charost zugeschrieben.
#51129
Geh.: sehr gut, Haarrisse
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 8500 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen