Search text
No.
Brand
<402>
Lot No. 402
Lot No. 402
Estimate  13,000 - 18,000 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

Blanc Fils Palais Royal, Paris, 290 x 290 x 10 mm

, circa 1810

An important Directoire gilt and patinated bronze "Pendule Au Bon Sauvage" with half hour/hour strike "The Coffee Bean Collector - Allegory of Diligence"


Case: firegilt and patinated bronze, octagonal base with figural depiction in high relief, ball feet. Dial: enamel. Movm.: circular brass full plate movement, 1 hammer / 1 bell, anchor escapement, count wheel, silk string suspension.

An octagonal base with relief ornamentation shows two men working the fields on the front and two bees on the side panels; the base supports the dark figure of a man. He tips coffee beans from a sack on his shoulder into a large barrel standing next to an exotic tree with large, greenish leaves.

An almost identical pendulum clock is illustrated and described in "Die Französische Bronzeuhr" (French bronze clocks) by Elke Niehüser, Munich 1997, page 156.

Brian Loomes lists Blanc Fils in Paris, Palais Royal on page 78 for the period 1807 to 1825.

In the 18th and 19th century, Europeans were fascinated by all things exotic. There were several reasons for this; the philosophical essays by Jean-Jacques Rousseau, the literary works "Paul et Virginie" by Bernardin de Saint-Pierre, "Atala" by Chateaubriand and of course "Robinson Crusoe" by Daniel Defoe played an important role, as they developed the idea of the "noble savage". Travel diaries by explorers and conquerers of far away continents such as as James Cook also supported the image of the indigenous savage living a life uncorrupted by civilization - an image that greatly inspired the artists at the time.
At the end of the Ancien Régime in the last decade of the 18th century, clockmakers created the first models that idealised the romantic idea of the noble savage and the Paradise lost. The motif is used with approximately 30 models and a nearly equal number of variations. Bronze artists at the time loved to emphasise the marvelous contrast of the dark and light surfaces - a dark skin tone with gold-coloured accessories. The most famous maker of this kind of bronze work was Jean Simon Deverberie (1764-1824).
Today, we are equally fascinated and troubled by these pendulum clocks. One cannot deny the quality and the exotic beauty of the clocks but nevertheless there is a feeling of unease too because the motifs could be interpreted as discrimination on the basis of race. Ultimately, they are portraits of the wistful longing for harmony and freedom people felt at the Time of Enlightenment.
#51135
Case: very good
Dial: very good, slightly chipped
Movm.: very good, capable of running

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 13000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<402>
Katalog Nr. 402
Katalog Nr. 402
Schätzpreis  13.000 - 18.000 €
Hier können Sie bis 12 Stunden vor Auktionsbeginn Gebote abgeben.
Danach kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt per E-Mail, Fax oder Telefon.

Blanc Fils Palais Royal, Paris, 290 x 290 x 10 mm

, circa 1810

Bedeutende Directoire "Pendule Au Bon Sauvage" aus vergoldeter und patinierter Bronze mit Halbstunden/Stundenschlag "Der Kaffeebohnensammler - Allegorie des Fleißes"


Geh.: Bronze, feuervergoldet und patiniert, achteckiger Sockel mit reliefierter figürlicher Darstellung, Kugelfüße. Ziffbl.: Email. Werk: rundes Messing-Vollplatinenwerk, 1 Hammer / 1 Glocke, Hakenhemmung, Schlossscheibe, Fadenaufhängung.

Auf einem achteckigen Sockel mit reliefierten Darstellungen zweier Männer bei der Feldarbeit und seitlichen Abbildungen zweier Bienen, erhebt sich die dunkel patinierte Figur eines Mannes. Aus einem geschulterten Sack leert er Kaffeebohnen in ein großes Fass, das von einem exotischen Baum mit grün patinierten Blättern flankiert wird.

Eine nahezu identische Pendule ist abgebildet und beschrieben in Elke Niehüser, "Die Französische Bronzeuhr", München 1997, Seite 156.

Brian Loomes führt auf Seite 78 Blanc Fils in Paris, Palais Royal in der Zeit zwischen 1807 und 1825 auf.

Die Faszination für alles Exotische war in Europa während des 18. und bis weit in das 19. Jahrhundert weit verbreitet. Mehrere Entwicklungen dieser Zeit trugen zu ihrer lang anhaltenden Popularität bei. Eine wichtige Rolle hierbei spielten die philosophischen Schriften Jean-Jacques Rousseaus und die literarischen Werke "Paul et Virginie" von Bernardin de Saint-Pierre, "Atala" von Chateaubriand und natürlich "Robinson Crusoe" von Daniel Defoe, in denen der Mythos des "Au bon Sauvage" (Edlen Wilden) entwickelt wurde. Auch Reiseberichte der Entdecker und Eroberer fremder Kontinente, wie beispielweise James Cook, begründeten die Vorstellung des von der Zivilisation unberührten, unverdorbenen Menschen und inspirierten die Künstler der damaligen Zeit.
Am Ende des Ancien Régime, in den letzten zehn Jahren des 18. Jahrhunderts, wurden die ersten Uhrenmodelle geschaffen, die das idealisierte Bild des Edlen Wilden und des verlorenen Paradieses aufgreifen. Das Thema wird in etwa dreißig Modellen und fast ebenso vielen Varianten verarbeitet. Für die Bronzegießer der damaligen Zeit eine wunderbare Möglichkeit mit dem Kontrast der dunklen und hellen Oberflächenpatinas (dunkel für die Haut und goldfarben für die Accessoires) zu arbeiten. Der bedeutendste Meister dieser Bronzearbeiten ist Jean Simon Deverberie (1764-1824).
Heutige Betrachter reagieren auf diese Pendulen gleichermaßen fasziniert wie irritiert. Einerseits überzeugt die Qualität und die Exotik, andererseits ist man zurückhaltend und unsicher, da eine mögliche Diskriminierung dahinter vermutet werden könnte. Letztendlich sind sie ein sehnsuchtsvoller Ausdruck der Gesellschaft zur Zeit der Aufklärung, geprägt von der Suche nach Harmonie und Freiheit.
#51135
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut, kleine Abplatzung
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 13000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen