Search text
No.
Brand
<12>
<33>
Lot No. 33
100th
Lot No. 33
100th
Estimate  25,000 - 35,000 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

John Joyne, Paris, Height 300 mm

, circa 1680

A French highly decorative, small "pendule miniature religieuse" in the Hague tradition, with half hour strike


Case: veneered ebony, very fine silver marquetry, windows to the sides, moulded pediment. Dial: silvered chapter ring. Movm.: rectangular-shaped brass movement, 90 x 110 mm, 1 hammer / 1 bell, verge escapement, going barrel, silk string suspension, cycloidal cheeks, steel pendulum rod and brass bob.

The ebonised wooden case of this clock is rather small for a typical Hague style "religieuse"; its sides are lavishly decorated with highly elaborate silver marquetry of animals and mythical creatures. The chapter ring is supported by two crowned lions and two putti holding the signature plaque.

John Joyne was active from around 1660 to 1700 in Saint-Germain-des-Prés in Paris. He became a member of the clockmakers’ company in Paris in 1660 and was made a free brother of the guild in 1687. Another of his clocks, a small, rectangular verge clock signed "John Joyne, St. Germain Paris", is owned by the British Museum.

In his article in the Antiquarian Horology magazine, Ivan Slee discusses another side of John Joyne’s character – Joyne was not only a renowned watch- and clockmaker, but also a scoundrel and a political schemer who lived during an exciting period of English history, when corruption, murder and conspiracies were a daily occurrence. The conflict between protestants and Roman Catholics was raging and when Charles II came to the throne, England was also under pressure from the Dutch across the channel, who intended to take advantage of the weakened state of the English navy. At the same time Samuel Pepys (1633-1703) began his reformation of the Royal Navy, which would establish the foundation for the English power at sea over the next two centuries. The Whigs were strongly opposed to the king’s policies, however, and rallied together under the leadership of the Earl of Shaftesbury; one of the Earl’s followers was John Scott , an unscrupulous man with a history of violence. In 1675 Scott went to Paris where he met John Joyne, and the two of them teamed up to carry out various shady ventures. When rumours of a papal conspiracy spread in 1678, Scott murdered a magistrate and was indicted by Pepys; he escaped and once again went to Joyne. Pepys now came under attack from the Whigs, who were his political enemies; he was imprisoned in the tower on charges of treason that were most likely fabricated. Pepys was able to get in touch with Joyne in Paris through his brother-in-law, who convinced Joyne to help apprehend Scott; as Scott owed Joyne a considerable sum of money, Joyne agreed. Joyne received 300 pounds for his efforts from Pepys – he tried to blackmail Pepys into further payments but these attempts seem to have come to nothing. As he was made a free brother of the Clockmakers’ Company five years later, Joyne seems to have given up his criminal activities and concentrated on his trade. He was active as a maker until 1697; there is no information available on John Joyne after that date.
#49003
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 25000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<12>
<33>
Katalog Nr. 33
100.
Katalog Nr. 33
100.
Schätzpreis  25.000 - 35.000 €
Hier können Sie bis 12 Stunden vor Auktionsbeginn Gebote abgeben.
Danach kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt per E-Mail, Fax oder Telefon.

John Joyne, Paris, Höhe 300 mm

, circa 1680

Hochdekorative kleine französische "Pendule Miniature Religieuse" im "Hague Stil" mit Halbstundenschlag


Geh.: Ebenholzfurnier, feinste Einlegarbeiten in Silber, seitliche Sichtfenster, profilierter Giebel. Ziffbl.: versilberter Zifferring. Werk: Rechteckform-Messingwerk, 90 x 110 mm, 1 Hammer / 1 Glocke, Spindelhemmung, Federhaus, Fadenaufhängung, Zykloidenbacken, Stahlpendelstab und Messingpendellinse.

Das für eine Religieuse im Hager Stil eher kleine Gehäuse aus ebonisiertem Holz ist vorne und an den Seiten üppig mit äußerst kunstfertigen silbernen Einlegearbeiten verziert, die Tiere und Fabelwesen zeigen. Der Ziffernring wird von gekrönten Löwen getragen, zwei geflügelte Putti halten das Signaturschild.

John Joyne , geboren etwa 1647 in Paris, arbeitete etwa 1660 bis 1700 in Saint-Germain-des-Prés. Er wurde 1660 Mitglied der Uhrmachergilde und 1687 freigesprochen. Eine weitere Arbeit von ihm, eine kleine quadratische Uhr mit Spindelhemmung, signiert John Joyne, St. Germain Paris, befindet sich im Britischen Museum.

Ivan Slee beleuchtet in einem Artikel im Antiquarian Horology eine andere Seite im Leben des John Joyne, der nicht nur ein angesehener Uhrmacher war, sondern auch ein schurkischer politischer Intrigant in einer aufregenden Epoche der englischen Geschichte, in der Korruption, Mord und Verschwörung an der Tagesordnung waren. Es tobte der Streit zwischen den Protestanten und der römisch-katholischen Bevölkerung und als Charles II. den Thron bestieg, wurde England mit seiner schwachen Flotte darüber hinaus vom mächtigen Holland auf der anderen Seite des Kanals bedrängt. In dieser Situation begann Samuel Pepys (1633-1703) die Marine zu reformieren und legte den Grundstein für die englische Seemacht der nächsten zwei Jahrhunderte. Die Whigs als erklärte Feinde des Königs sammelten sich unter der Führung des Earl of Shaftesbury unter dessen Anhängern sich wiederum John Scott befand, ein gewissenloser Geselle mit übler Vorgeschichte. Dieser ging 1675 nach Paris und lernte dort John Joyne kennen; fortan arbeiteten beide zusammen in diversen dubiosen Unternehmungen. Als 1678 Gerüchte über eine päpstliche Verschwörung verbreitet wurden, ermorderte Scott einen Magistraten, wurde von Pepys angeklagt und floh darauf hin wieder zu Joyne. Im Gegenzug jedoch wurde nun Pepys von den Whigs bedrängt und verklagt, was tatsächlich zu seiner Inhaftierung im Tower führte. Es gelang ihm aber, durch seinen Schwager Joyne in Paris zu überreden, bei der Gefangennahme Scotts behilflich zu sein; was umso leichter gelang, als Scott Joyne eine große Summe Geldes schuldete. Joyne erhielt von Pepys 300 Pfund für seine Dienste und versuchte mit Drohungen weitere Gelder von ihm zu erpressen, was aber wohl nicht erfolgreich war. Da Joyne fünf Jahre später von der Clockmakers' Company freigesprochen wurde, scheint er sich dann doch mehr auf sein eigentliches Handwerk konzentriert zu haben. Bis 1697 arbeitete er noch als Uhrmacher; danach verliert sich seine Spur.
#49003
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 25000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen