Search text
No.
Brand
<12>
<16>
Lot No. 16
100th
Lot No. 16
100th
Estimate  60,000 - 80,000 €
Price Realised  225,000 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

Patek Philippe & Cie. Genève, "Qualité Extra"

, Movement No. 97796, Case No. 330451, 60 mm, 173 g, circa 1895

A heavy Geneva minute repeating pocket watch of historical interest with quarter hour / hour strike "Grande Sonnerie et Petite Sonnerie" and 32h power reserve indicator. The watch was sold in 1897 to watchmaker August Ericsson in St. Petersburg for 2,850 Swiss francs and remained in the property of the Ericsson family ever since. It comes with a receipt of a revision recently carried out by Patek Philippe in Genf for 10,888 euros, and a certificate issued by Patek Philippe in 1959, giving details on the history of the watch.


Case: 18k gold, 2 levers for choosing between Grande or Petite Sonnerie and Silence. Dial: enamel, luminous numerals. Movm.: divided 2/3 plate movement, 2 hammers / 2 gongs, gold screw compensation balance.

This heavy pocket watch is fitted with a technically sophisticated movement of unusual beauty; it was purchased for his own use from Patek Philippe by the renowned Swedish watchmaker August Ericsson in 1897 for 2,850 Swiss francs, which was at the time an enormous amount of money. When he acquired the watch, Ericsson had been living in St. Petersburg for over 30 years and had established a successful watch and clock shop – he delivered to the Russian imperial family as well as to the Russian navy. After August’s death in 1915, the watch was passed on to his son Alexander and has been passed down the generations since then – this is the first time ever this watch comes up for sale. According to the family, August Ericsson had a new case made in later years.

The quarter hour strike on two gongs is resonant and clear; the repeater is released very easily by only a quick touch of the lateral slide, as the slide is not needed to cock the mechanism – that is done by the crown, which winds the repeater mechanism in one direction, while turning it in the other direction winds the movement of the watch as usual. Winding the watch simultaneously sets the power reserve indicator (which is an extremely rare feature in a Patek Philippe timepiece).

The letter from Patek Philippe dating from 1959 states: "The watch was sold to your father in 1897 for 2,850 francs, which was a considerable sum at the time. We cannot give you an exact estimate as to its current value due to the fact, that such pieces very rarely come on the market today and are generally not in demand. However, the current insurable value insurance value should be approximately 6,000 to 8,000 francs."
#49037
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 66000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<12>
<16>
Katalog Nr. 16
100.
Katalog Nr. 16
100.
Schätzpreis  60.000 - 80.000 €
Hier können Sie bis 12 Stunden vor Auktionsbeginn Gebote abgeben.
Danach kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt per E-Mail, Fax oder Telefon.

Patek Philippe & Cie. Genève, "Qualité Extra"

, Werk Nr. 97796, Geh. Nr. 330451, 60 mm, 173 g, circa 1895

Historisch interessante, schwere Genfer Taschenuhr mit Minutenrepetition, Viertelstunden-/Stundenselbstschlag "Grande Sonnerie et Petite Sonnerie" und 32 Stunden Gangreserveanzeige - verkauft 1897 an den Petersburger Uhrmacher August Ericsson für 2850 SFr und bis heute im Besitz der Familie Ericsson. Mit einem Beleg für die vor kurzem bei Patek Philippe in Genf für 10.888 Euro erfolgte Revision und einem Schreiben von Patek Philippe aus dem Jahr 1959 mit Hinweisen zur Geschichte der Uhr.


Geh.: 18Kt Gold, 2 Hebel für Wahlschaltung: Grande bzw. Petite Sonnerie und Silence. Ziffbl.: Email, Leuchtzahlen. Werk: geteiltes 2/3-Platinenwerk, 2 Hämmer / 2 Tonfedern, Goldschrauben-Komp.-Unruh.

Diese schwere Taschenuhr mit einem Werk von rarer Schönheit und technischer Raffinesse erwarb der renommierte schwedische Uhrmacher August Ericsson im Jahr 1897 von Patek Philippe für die damals enorme Summe von 2850 Schweizer Franken zu seinem eigenen Gebrauch. Zu dieser Zeit war Ericsson schon über dreißig Jahre in St. Petersburg, wo er ein erfolgreiches Uhrengeschäft gegründet hatte und zum Lieferanten der Zarenfamilie und der russischen Marine aufsteigen konnte. Nach Augusts Tod im Jahr 1915 ging die Uhr in den Besitz seines Sohnes Alexander über, wurde bis heute in der Familie Ericsson weiter vererbt und daher bislang noch nie zum Verkauf angeboten. Nach Auskunft der Familie hat August Ericsson in späteren Jahren ein neues Gehäuse anfertigen lassen.

Die Uhr schlägt die Viertelstunden auf zwei Tonfedern von volltönendem, klaren Klang; für das Auslösen der Repetition genügt ein kurze Bewegung des seitlichen Schiebers, da dieser nicht dazu benötigt wird, den Mechanismus zu spannen. Dies geschieht über die Krone, die in der einen Richtung das Repetitionswerk, in der anderen wie gewohnt das Uhrwerk aufzieht (verbunden mit der bei Taschenuhren von Patek Philippe äußerst seltenen Gangreserveranzeige).

Im Anschreiben von Patek Philippe aus dem Jahre 1959 wird folgendes erwähnt: "Die Uhr wurde im Jahre 1897 zu dem damals schon beachtlichen Preis von Fr. 2850,-- an Ihren Herrn Vater verkauft. Einen genauen Preis für heute können wir Ihnen nicht nennen, da solche Stücke selten mehr im Handel sind und auch sozusagen nicht mehr gefragt sind. Immerhin dürfte sich der Versicherungswert zwischen Fr. 6000,- und Fr. 8000,- bewegen."
#49037
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 66000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen