Search text
No.
Brand
<12>
Lot No. 8
100th
Lot No. 8
100th
Estimate  10,000 - 20,000 €
Price Realised  10,700 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

A. Lange & Söhne Glashütte B/Dresden

, Movement No. 28051, Case No. 53517, 51 mm, 91 g, circa 1889

A historical interesting Glashuette hunting case pocket watch, sold on 06/25/1889 to Dürrstein & Co in Dresden for 254 Marks - with original box, Lange extract from the archives and personal statement from the curator of the foundation Deutsches Uhrenmuseum Glashütte (German watch and clock museum Glashütte). With watch chain and medal "Gold gab ich zur Wehr, Eisen nahm ich zur Ehr" (I gave gold for the country and took iron for honour).


Case: iron, gun-metal finished, gold mountings. Dial: enamel. Movm.: 3/4 plate movement, screw compensation balance.

It is a changeful story that leads us from the making of this timepiece in the 1880s to World War I – it is one of the very few watches produced by Lange & Söhne, where movement number and case number do not match. According to company records, the watch in its original gold case was made in Glashütte as number 28051 and sold to the Dürrstein company in Dresden in 1889. Around 20 years later, Lange & Söhne delivered another watch bearing the number 53517 in a iron case to the company Jaksch in Riga; the watch was returned, however, some weeks later because it was undeliverable. After another four years, in late 1914, the movement of this watch was sold to Celle – this time in a silver case.

The iron case remained in Glashütte and in 1916 - when wartime Germany was in need of resources and foreign currencies - watch number 28051 was taken from its gold case and fitted into the steel case. This is verified by the engraving on the cuvette: "Das Gold gab ich dem Vaterland" (I gave the gold to the fatherland). To reward this dedication, the Bank of Germany awarded a medal with the inscription "Gold gab ich zur Wehr, Eisen nahm ich zur Ehr" (I gave gold for the country and took iron for honour); the inscription is repeated on the watch chain, which also bears the year "1916 - In eiserner Zeit" (1916 – an iron time). The watch was formerly the property of Johannes Hermann Gustav Remy, a member of the prominent Remy industrialist family. Lieutenant commander and submarine captain Remy went missing in action in 1918 in the Mediterranean near Malaga.

A similar call for donations had been made before in the time of the Prussian kingdom. Princess Marianne of Prussia asked Prussian women to donate their gold in exchange for iron jewellery with the inscription "Gold gab ich für Eisen" (I gave gold for iron). In World War I this call for donations was repeated and from 1916 on the donations were rewarded with medals such as this one, which was designed by Hermann Hosaeus (1875 - 1958); Hosaeus was famous for his war memorials and medals.
#49040
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 10000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<12>
Katalog Nr. 8
100.
Katalog Nr. 8
100.
Schätzpreis  10.000 - 20.000 €
Hier können Sie bis 12 Stunden vor Auktionsbeginn Gebote abgeben.
Danach kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt per E-Mail, Fax oder Telefon.

A. Lange & Söhne Glashütte B/Dresden

, Werk Nr. 28051, Geh. Nr. 53517, 51 mm, 91 g, circa 1889

Historisch interessante Glashütter Savonnette, verkauft am 25.06.1889 an die Fa. Dürrstein & Co in Dresden für 254 Mark - mit Originalschatulle, Lange-Stammbuchauszug und persönlicher Stellungnahme des Kurators der Stiftung Deutsches Uhrenmuseum Glashütte. Dabei Uhrenkette und Medaille "Gold gab ich zur Wehr, Eisen nahm ich zur Ehr".


Geh.: Eisen, brüniert, Goldmontierungen. Ziffbl.: Email. Werk: 3/4-Platinenwerk, Schrauben-Komp.-Unruh.

Eine wechselvolle Geschichte von der Herstellung in den 80er Jahren des 19. Jahrhunderts bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg führte hier zu einer der seltenen Uhren von Lange & Söhne, bei denen Werk- und Gehäusenummer nicht übereinstimmen. Den Werkbüchern ist zu entnehmen, dass die Uhr im originalen Goldgehäuse mit der Nummer 28051 in Glashütte gefertigt und 1889 an die Firma Dürrstein in Dresden verkauft wurde. Gut zwanzig Jahre später verschickte Lange & Söhne eine andere Uhr mit der Nummer 53517 im Eisengehäuse an die Fa. Jaksch in Riga, von wo sie jedoch einige Wochen später als unzustellbar zurückkehrte. Wiederum vier Jahre später, Ende 1914, wird das Werk dieser nicht ausgelieferten Uhr - jetzt in einem Silbergehäuse - nach Celle verkauft.
Das Eisengehäuse blieb in Glashütte, wo 1916 - Deutschland im Krieg benötigte Rohstoffe und Devisen - im Tausch gegen das Goldgehäuse das Werk der Uhr 28051 eingesetzt wurde. Die Gravur der Cuvette belegt es: "Das Gold gab ich dem Vaterland". Als Dank für die Opferbereitschaft verlieh die Reichsbank eine Medaille mit dem Motto "Gold gab ich zur Wehr, Eisen nahm ich zur Ehr", welches auch die eiserne Uhrenkette zeigt, auf der zudem das Jahr "1916 - In eiserner Zeit" zu lesen ist. Die Uhr stammt aus dem Besitz des Johannes Hermann Gustav Remy aus der Fabrikantendynastie Remy. Als Kapitänleutnant und U-Boot-Kommandant ist er im Jahr 1918 im Mittelmeer auf der Höhe von Malaga verschollen.

Einen ähnlichen Spendenaufruf gab es bereits im Preußischen Königreich. Prinzessin Marianne von Preußen rief ihre Landsfrauen auf, ihre Wertsachen aus Gold gegen eisernen Schmuck mit der Inschrift "Gold gab ich für Eisen" zu tauschen. Im Ersten Weltkrieg wurde der Aufruf wiederholt, ab 1916 gab es für die Spender Medaillen wie die hier vorliegende, die von Hermann Hosaeus (1875 - 1958) entworfen wurde, der insbesondere für seine Entwürfe von Kriegerdenkmälern und Münzen bekannt war.
#49040
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 10000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen