Search text
No.
Brand
<12>
<49>
Lot No. 49
100th
Lot No. 49
100th
Estimate  37,000 - 50,000 €
Price Realised  46,300 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

Jacques Duduict à Blois, 80 mm, 496 g

, circa 1640

An important, one-handed, early and rare, pre-balance hour striking verge coach watch with alarm


Case: brass, firegilt, pierced edges, decorated with finely hand-engraved flower tendrils, rear bell. Dial: brass, firegilt, the rim and centre with finely engraved floral and foliage decoration, central rotating alarm ring with engraved Arabic numerals and foliage engraved arms, single blued steel hand. Movm.: full plate movement, chain/fusee, lavishly florally engraved barrel for striking train, additional barrel for alarm, 2 hammers, verge escapement, iron balance without balance spring.

In the 350 years since its creation, this timepiece has always been well looked after and is – considering its age – in excellent condition. The dial is immaculate and owes its current state to the cover, which is a rather unusual feature in a carriage watch.
The engraved floral ornamentation of the pierced case rim is exquisite and very typical for the Blois area in France in the early 17th century. During the 16th and 17th century the French royal court often resided in Blois, which made the city a hub of the arts attracting a great number of skilled craftsmen and artists; at the time, many excellent enamel painters and watch- and clockmakers lived in or near Blois.

Watchmaker Jacques Duduict (1599-1645) was a native of Blois who specialized in the making of solar watches. In 1631 he published a printed paper titled "Le Nouveau Sciataire" about the production of solar watches allowing the determination of the meridian and the height of the pole on sea.

An oval-shaped pendant watch with enamel ornamentation, strike and alarm by Jacques Duduict from the Soltykoff collection features a similar dial and is illustrated and described in F.J. Britten’s "Old Clocks and Watches & Their Makers", London 1977, p. 75, Figs. 65 and 66 and in Tardy’s "Dictionaire des horlogers Francais", 1972, pages 197 and 198.
#49058
Case: very good, slightly worn
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 37000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<12>
<49>
Katalog Nr. 49
100.
Katalog Nr. 49
100.
Schätzpreis  37.000 - 50.000 €
Hier können Sie bis 12 Stunden vor Auktionsbeginn Gebote abgeben.
Danach kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt per E-Mail, Fax oder Telefon.

Jacques Duduict à Blois, 80 mm, 496 g

, circa 1640

Bedeutende, einzeigrige, frühe und seltene Kutschenuhr mit Stundenselbstschlag und Wecker


Geh.: Messing, feuervergoldet, am Rand durchbrochen gearbeitet und dekoriert mit feinst handgravierten Blütenranken, Bodenglocke. Ziffbl.: Messing, feuervergoldet, aufwändig floral gravierter Rand und Zentrum, zentraler drehbarer Weckerring mit gravierten arab. Zahlen und blattverzierten Armen, gebläuter Stahlzeiger. Werk: Vollplatinenwerk, Kette/Schnecke, aufwändig floral graviertes Federhaus für Schlagwerk, zusätzliches Federhaus für Weckwerk, 2 Hämmer, Spindelhemmung, Eisenunruh ohne Unruhspirale.

Der vorliegende Zeitmesser wurde in den 350 Jahren seines Bestehens gut gepflegt und befindet für sein Alter in einem ausgezeichneten Gesamtzustand. Das Zifferblatt ist tadellos und verdankt seinen Zustand dem für Kutschenuhren sonst so ungewöhnlichen Deckel.
Das verwendete Blumenrankendekor am durchbrochenen Rand des Gehäuses ist besonders fein graviert und charakteristisch für die Gegend um Blois in Frankreich in der ersten Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts. Blois war als beliebte, französische Königsresidenz im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert ein Zentrum der schönen Künste und der Kunsthandwerker und beherbergte so hervorragende Emailmaler und Uhrmacher.

Der aus Blois stammende Uhrmacher Jacques Duduict (1599-1645) war auch auf die Herstellung von Sonnenuhren spezialisiert. Er veröffentliche 1631 eine Druckschrift mit dem Titel "Ein neues Sägeinstrument, um alle Arten von Solaruhren herzustellen und auf dem Meer den Meridian und die Höhe des Pols zu finden" ("Le nouveau Sciatere pour fabriquer toutes sortes d'horloges solaires sans centre et pour trouver sur mer le méridien et la hauteur du pôle").

Eine aus der Sammlung Soltykoff stammende, ovale Halsuhr mit Emaildekor, Schlagwerk und Wecker von Jacques Duduict hat ein ähnlich gestaltetes Zifferblatt und ist abgebildet und beschrieben in F.J. Britten, "Old Clocks and Watches & Their Makers", London 1977, S. 75, Abb. 65 und 66 und in Tardy "Dictionaire des horlogers Francais", 1972 auf den Seiten 197 und 198.
#49058
Geh.: sehr gut, leichte Tragespuren
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 37000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen