Search text
No.
Brand
<298>
Lot No. 298
Lot No. 298
Estimate  30,000 - 37,000 €
Here you can leave bids until 12 hours before the auction starts.
Please contact us then by e-mail, fax or phone.

Rolex "Oyster Perpetual Submariner 660ft=200m Superlative Chronometer officially certified"

, Movement No. D62432, Case No. 870635, Ref. 5512, Cal. 1560, 39 mm, circa 1962

A diver's rare automatic wristwatch with pointed crown guards


Case: steel, screw back ref. 5512 IV/62, bidirectional rotating original black bezel (inlay MKIII), screwed "Rolex" winding crown, pointed crown guards, riveted steel "Oyster" bracelet with endlinks stamped 75, 7/5 bracelet elements, clasp dated 4/67, bracelet length 140 mm, total length 185 mm. Dial: original service dial, matt black.

The dial of this watch was replaced during an earlier service, but still features the matte black colour of the original time period and looks perfect. The original hands are in equally good condition and have never been replaced, likewise the original bezel.

The Rolex "point guards" edition was considerably smaller in numbers than the "square guards" series, because the watches were originally designed to have square guards and then modified later. Keen to develop and test features intended to improve and perfect the Rolex diver’s watches, the company only produced a small number of models to test the engineering and rise to the challenge of improved crown guards. Today this watch is one of the most highly desired models among the collectors of fine Rolex time pieces.

Launched in 1959 reference 5512 was produced until the late 1970's, this reference can be considered the first modern Submariner with introduction of the crown guard (square) and a new type of bezel, wider than the case, to allow a better grip while wearing diving gloves.
#50304
Case: very good, slightly worn
Dial: very good, later original
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 30000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<298>
Katalog Nr. 298
101.
Katalog Nr. 298
101.
Schätzpreis  30.000 - 37.000 €
Dies ist eine Position aus der letzten Auktion!

Rolex "Oyster Perpetual Submariner 660ft=200m Superlative Chronometer officially certified"

, Werk Nr. D62432, Geh. Nr. 870635, Ref. 5512, Cal. 1560, 39 mm, circa 1962

Seltene, automatische Taucherarmbanduhr mit Pointed Crown Guards


Geh.: Stahl, Schraubboden Ref. 5512 IV/62, beidseitig drehbare schwarze Originallunette (Inlay MKIII), verschraubte "Rolex"-Krone, spitz zulaufender Kronenschutz ("pointed crown guards"), genietetes "Oyster"-Stahlarmband mit 75er Anstößen, 7/5 Glieder, Schließe datiert 4/67, Bandlänge 140 mm, Gesamtlänge 185 mm. Ziffbl.: originales Service Zifferblatt, mattschwarz.

Das hier verwendete Zifferblatt wurde während eines früheren Services zwar ausgetauscht, ist jedoch der Zeit entsprechend mattschwarz und perfekt. Die Zeiger sind in einem sehr guten Zustand und sind, wie die Lunette, original und nicht erneuert.

Die Auflage der Rolex Uhren mit "point guards" (Kronenschutz mit Spitzschultern) war um einiges geringer als die "square guards" (Kronenschutz mit flachen Schultern), da die Uhren ursprünglich als flachschultrige Kronenschutz-Versionen konzipiert waren und dann eine Modifizerung erfahren haben. In einer Zeit voller Entwicklungen und Prüfungen hinsichtlich einer Verbesserung ihrer Taucheruhren, stellte Rolex nur einige wenige Modelle her, um ihre Ergonomie zu testen und sich der Herausforderung eines verbesserten Kronenschutzes zu stellen. Heutzutage gehören diese Uhren zu den meist gesuchten Modellen unter den Rolex Liebhabern.

Referenz 5512 wurde 1959 eingeführt und bis in die späten 1970er Jahre produziert; sie wird als die erste moderne Submariner bezeichnet und besaß als erstes Modell einen Kronenschutz (square) und eine vergrößerte Lunette. Durch die Lunette, die größer ist als das Gehäuse selbst, sollte die Einstellung auch mit Taucherhandschuhen erleichtert werden.
#50304
Geh.: sehr gut, leichte Tragespuren
Ziff.: sehr gut, später original
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 30000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen