Search text
No.
Brand
<435>
Lot No. 435
101st
Lot No. 435
101st
Estimate  8,000 - 10,000 €
Price Realised  10,000 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

Fromanteel, 53 mm, 112 g

, circa 1690

A rare pair-cased verge pocket watch with so-called "wandering hour"


Case: outer case - silver, coated with leather, stud decoration. Inner case - silver. Dial: silver and gilding, champlevé in the lower half. Movm.: full plate movement, chain/fusee, three-arm brass balance.

The retrograde minute display sits in the top half of the silver dial. Underneath is a semi-circular cutout reveals a revolving gilt disc; a window displays the hours with Roman numerals. Below this semi-circle, a retrograde scale indicates the quarter hours. The lower part of the dial is decorated with chased and engraved eagle decoration surrounded by fine volutes and foliate tendrils.

This watch was most likely made by Abraham Fromanteel , son of the famous maker Ahasuerus Fromanteel (1607-1693); Ahasuerus Fromanteel was the first clockmaker in England to produce pendulum clocks. His son Abraham was born circa 1646 in London. He trained as a watchmaker between 1662 and 1669 and became a free brother of the Clockmakers' Company in 1680. Abraham is known to have worked in London, Amsterdam and Newcastle upon Tyne, where the Fromanteel family business had established branches. He died in 1730 at the age of 84.
Source: Brian Loomes, "Watchmakers and Clockmakers of the World, London 2006, p. 284.
#50528
Case: very good, dents
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 8800 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<435>
Katalog Nr. 435
101.
Katalog Nr. 435
101.
Schätzpreis  8.000 - 10.000 €
Realisierter Preis 10.000 €
Dies ist eine Position aus der letzten Auktion!

Fromanteel, 53 mm, 112 g

, circa 1690

Seltene Doppelgehäuse-Spindeltaschenuhr mit wandernder Stunde


Geh.: Außengehäuse - Silber, mit Leder überzogen, Ziernageldekoration. Innengehäuse - Silber. Ziffbl.: Silber und Vergoldung, untere Hälfte Champlevé. Werk: Vollplatinenwerk, Kette/ Schnecke, dreiarmige Messingunruh.

Das silberne Zifferblatt besitzt in der oberen Hälfte eine retrograde Minutenanzeige mit arab. Zahlen. Dieser folgend befindet sich darunter ein halbkreisförmiger Ausschnitt mit rotierender, vergoldeter Scheibe und Fenster für die röm. Stundenanzeige. Weiter Richtung Zentrum befindet sich eine retrograde Viertelstundenanzeige. Die untere Hälfte des Zifferblattes ist dekoriert mit punziertem und graviertem Dekor eines Adlers inmitten feiner Voluten und Blattranken.

Diese Uhr stammt sehr wahrscheinlich von Abraham Fromanteel , Sohn des berühmten Uhrmachers Ahasuerus Fromanteel (1607-1693), der als erster in Großbritannien Pendeluhren herstellte. Sein Sohn Abraham wurde um 1646 in London geboren. Zwischen 1662 und 1669 wurde er zum Uhrmacher ausgebildet und 1680 von der Clockmakers' Company freigesprochen. Seine Aufenthaltsorte wechselten zwischen London, Amsterdam und Newcastle upon Tyne, wo die Uhrmacherfamilie Fromanteel Niederlassungen hatte. Er starb 1730 im Alter von 84 Jahren.
Quelle: Brian Loomes, "Watchmakers and Clockmakers of the World, London 2006, S. 284.
#50528
Geh.: sehr gut, Beulen
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 8800 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen