Search text
No.
Brand
<605>
Lot No. 605
Lot No. 605
Estimate  3,500 - 5,000 €
Here you can leave bids until 12 hours before the auction starts.
Please contact us then by e-mail, fax or phone.

Nicolas Vallin, Height 150 mm

, circa 1610

One of the earliest existing English tabernacle clock cases with concealed compass


Case: brass, firegilt. Dial: silver, engraved compass rose, single blued iron hand.

All sides as well as the floor are elaborately engraved with contemporary motifs, mythological figures and mythical beasts. Dragons, devils, angels and stags, mythical birds and the figure of Mercury cavort among flower garlands, strapwork ornamentation, flames and clouds of smoke. On top of the case sits an open-work, engraved dome for the bell; it is embellished with four balusters in each corner and a detachable baluster finial on top, under which a compass hides.

Nicolas Vallin and his father John (circa 1535–1603), a Flemish clockmaker, presumably emigrated to England around 1590, which was a time of political unrest in the Netherlands. Nicholas first worked together with his father and is said to have settled as a watchmaker in St. Annes, Blackfriars, around 1593. Nicolas quickly rose to become the most eminent watch- and clockmaker in London; both he and his father died in the plague of 1603.

Several clocks by Nicolas Vallin can be found in important museums: In the British Museum there is a musical chamber clock by Nicholas Vallin. The Science Museum's collection includes a small round table clock with an astronomical movement. Another circular clock with alarm and a small enamelled pocket watch are in the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. A square horizontal table clock is held in the Musée International d'Horlogerie and in the Portland Collection, exhibited in the Harley Gallery, Welbeck, Nottinghamshire.
Source: https://watch-wiki.org/‌index.php?title=Vallin,_Nicolas, as of 10/24/2019.
#50535
Case: very good
Dial: very good

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 3500 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<605>
Katalog Nr. 605
101.
Katalog Nr. 605
101.
Schätzpreis  3.500 - 5.000 €
Realisierter Preis 12.000 €
Dies ist eine Position aus der letzten Auktion!

Nicolas Vallin, Höhe 150 mm

, circa 1610

Eines der frühesten existierenden englischen Türmchenuhrgehäuse mit verstecktem Kompass


Geh.: Messing, feuervergoldet. Ziffbl.: Silber, gravierte Kompassrose, gebläuter Eisenzeiger.

Alle Wandungen, selbst der Boden sind aufwändig graviert mit zeitgenössischem Dekor, mythologischen Gestalten und Fabelwesen. So tümmeln sich Drachen, Teufel, Engel und Hirsche, Phantasievögel und die Figur des Merkur zwischen Flammen und Rauchwolken, Blütenranken und Bandelwerk. Das Gehäuse wird bekrönt von einer durchbrochen gearbeiteten und gravierten Kuppel für die Glocke, eingefasst von vier Eckbalustern, ein weiterer abnehmbarer Baluster dient als Kuppelaufsatz, unter dem sich ein Kompass verbirgt.

Nicolas Vallin und sein Vater John (circa 1535–1603), ein flämischer Uhrmacher, emigrierten wohl um 1590 nach England, in einer Zeit politischer Unruhen in den Niederlanden. Nicholas arbeitete zunächst mit seinem Vater zusammen und soll sich dann um 1593 als Uhrmacher in St. Annes, Blackfriars, niedergelassen haben. Nicolas stieg schnell zum berühmtesten Uhrmacher Londons auf; er und sein Vater starben beim Ausbruch der Pest im Jahr 1603.

Einige Uhren von Nicolas Vallin befinden sich in bedeutenden Museen: Im Britischen Museum befindet sich eine musikalische Kammeruhr von Nicholas Vallin. In der Sammlung des Science Museums befindet sich eine kleine, runde Tischuhr mit astronomischem Uhrwerk. Eine weitere runde Uhr mit Wecker und eine kleine emaillierte Taschenuhr befinden sich in der Sammlung vom Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. Eine quadratische Horizontaltischuhr im Musée International d’Horlogerie und in der Portland Collection, ausgestellt in der Harley Gallery, Welbeck, Nottinghamshire.
Quelle: https://watch-wiki.org/‌index.php?title=Vallin,_Nicolas, Stand 24.10.2019.
#50535
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 3500 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen