Search text
No.
Brand
<608>
Lot No. 608*
Lot No. 608*
Estimate  7,000 - 12,000 €
Here you can leave bids until 12 hours before the auction starts.
Please contact us then by e-mail, fax or phone.

Augsburg, Height 285 mm

, circa 1630

An early figure clock with automaton and hour strike "The Blackamoor" - a rare example of a type of clock that was later called "cercles tournants"


Case: brass and copper, firegilt, engraved, chased and chiselled, remains of polychrome enamelling, rear bell. Dial: firegilt brass globe with hour ring with engraved Roman hours "I-XII". Movm.: circular brass full plate movement, firegilt, 2 barrels for going and striking train, 1 hammer, remains of the original stackfreed, verge escapement, locking plate with internal teeth, three-arm brass balance.

The circular, two-part base rests on three feet in the form of lions. The walls are decorated with strapwork, pomegranate motifs and stylized columns. On the base sits an elaborately chased and engraved plate supporting the gilded blackamoor figure. The man in the garb of a Roman general wears a crown, a tiny monkey sits at his feet. He indicates the time on the celestial globe on top of a stylized tree trunk with his sceptre. When the bell strikes the hour, the man turns his head towards the globe.

The harmonious design of this early automaton clock makes it stand out from the group of 16th century figural clocks with popular, mundane subjects in exquisitely engraved and ornamented, firegilt cases. The movement was altered and modernized several times, indicating that the clock was passed through the generations and held in great esteem.
#50567
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, later balance, re-built, cleaning needed

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 7000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<608>
Katalog Nr. 608*
101.
Katalog Nr. 608*
101.
Schätzpreis  7.000 - 12.000 €
Realisierter Preis 29.100 €
Dies ist eine Position aus der letzten Auktion!

Augsburg, Höhe 285 mm

, circa 1630

Frühe Figurenuhr mit Automat und Stundenselbstschlag "Der Mohr" - ein seltenes Beispiel einer später "cercles tournants" bezeichneten Uhr


Geh.: Messing und Kupfer, feuervergoldet, graviert, punziert und ziseliert, Reste von Email, Bodenglocke. Ziffbl.: feuervergoldete Messingkugel mit Stundenband mit gravierten röm. Stunden "I-XII". Werk: rundes Messing-Vollplatinenwerk, feuervergoldet, 2 Federhäuser für Geh- und Stundenschlagwerk, 1 Hammer, Reste des ursprünglichen Stackfreeds (Kurvenscheibe und Stopprad), Spindelhemmung, innenverzahnte Schlossscheibe, dreiarmige Messingunruh.

Der runde, zweiteilige Sockel ruht auf drei Füßen, die als Löwenfiguren gearbeitet sind. Die Wandung ist mit Bandelwerk, Granatäpfeln und stilisierten Säulen reich dekoriert. Obenauf steht die vergoldete Statuette des Mohren zu seinen Füßen sitzt sich ein Äffchen. Er ist im Stil eines römischen Feldherrn bekleidet und trägt eine Krone. Mit einem Zepter in der rechten Hand zeigt er die Zeit auf dem Himmelsglobus an der Spitze eines stilisierten Baumstammes. Beim Glockenschlag zur vollen Stunde wendet der Mohr seinen Kopf.

Bei dieser frühen Automatenuhr handelt es sich um ein besonders ausgewogen gestaltetes Exemplar aus der Gruppe der Figurenuhren mit profanem Sujet des 16. Jahrhunderts mit schön graviertem und ziseliertem, original feuervergoldeten Gehäuse. Das Werk wurde mehrfach umgebaut und modernisiert, was darauf hindeutet, dass die Uhr von Generation zu Generation weiter gereicht wurde und eine große Wertschätzung erfahren hat.
#50567
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, spätere Unruh, Umbauten, Reinigung notwendig

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 7000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen