Search text
No.
Brand
<140>
Lot No. 140
101st
Lot No. 140
101st
Estimate  15,000 - 20,000 €
This is a lot of the last auction!

International Watch Co., Schaffhausen

, Movement No. 1014035, Case No. 1033435, Cal. 52T 19''' H6 S.C., 55 mm, circa 1939

A large aviation wristwatch of the Deutsche Luftwaffe


Case: steel, matt-finished, push back, anti-magnetic protection cap. Dial: black, centre seconds, luminous alpha hands.

"The big aviators watch of IWC produced for the German Airforce"
In 1940, 1.000 pieces of the big aviator's watch with case numbers between 1033201 and 1034200 were shipped to Siegfried Heindorf, Berlin/Germany.

As in maritime navigation, aviation required the most precise watches and clocks possible in oder to determine geographical longitude. Precise, robust and easlily read watches were ordered for air travel to determine aircraft location and flight duration.
Pilots needed wristwatches that could be accurately and instantly read when both hands were being used to pilot the aircraft. Their navigation watch had to be worn on the arm over their flight outfit. Luftwaffe High Command gave exact instructions regarding operating precision and the degree of movement completion required. Before being delivered, every single watch had to be tested and given operating certification by the German Naval Observatory or some other official test institute. The fine adjustment of every watch had to be conducted in six positions and at three varying temperatures.

The B-wristwatches by IWC, Lange & Soehne, Wempe, Walter Storz, and Lacher & Co. were regulated as navigation watches; each one of them had been tested for its chronometer quality by the naval observatory in Gesundbrunnen (near Glashuette). The watches had specially made leather wristbands so that the pilots could wear them over their jackets.
Source: www.knirim.de
#50633
Case: very good, slightly worn
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running

×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 15000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
<140>
Katalog Nr. 140
101.
Katalog Nr. 140
101.
Schätzpreis  15.000 - 20.000 €
Dies ist eine Position aus der letzten Auktion!

International Watch Co., Schaffhausen

, Werk Nr. 1014035, Geh. Nr. 1033435, Cal. 52T 19''' H6 S.C., 55 mm, circa 1939

Große Fliegeruhr der Deutschen Luftwaffe


Geh.: Stahl, matt, Druckboden, Antimagnetismus-Weicheisenabschirmung. Ziffbl.: schwarz, Zentralsekunde, Alpha-Leuchtzeiger.

"Die große IWC Fliegeruhr für die Deutsche Luftwaffe"
1940 wurden unter den Werknummern 1013801-1015000, 1200 Fliegeruhren mit Kaliber 52 T-19", H 6 S.C. hergestellt, wovon 1000 dieser Fliegeruhren mit den Gehäusenummern 1033201-1034200 an Siegfried Heindorf in Berlin geliefert wurden.

Neben der Seefahrt, die zur Bestimmung der geographischen Länder möglichst genau gehende Uhren an Bord der Schiffe benötigte, war auch die Luftfahrt auf genau gehende, robuste und gut ablesbare Uhren angeweisen, um Orts- und Flugdauerbestimmungen durchführen zu können.
Piloten benötigten eine Uhr, die auch dann rasch, sicher und sekundengenau abgelesen werden konnte, wenn sie beide Hände zum Steuern ihrer Maschine brauchten. Ihre Beobachtungsuhr musste am Arm über der Fliegermontur zu tragen sein. Die Anforderungen bezüglich der Ganggenauigkeit und der Grad der Werksvollendung wurden von den Dienststellen und Oberkommandos exakt festgelegt. Jede einzelne Uhr musste vor ihrer Auslieferung bei einer Deutschen Seewarte oder einem anderen amtlichen Prüfinstitut überprüft und mit einem Gangzeugnis versehen werden. Die Feinstellung musste an jeder einzelnen Uhr in sechs Lagen und bei drei Temperaturen vorgenommen worden sein.

Die Armband-B-Uhren von IWC, Lange & Söhne, Wempe, Walter Storz und Lacher & Co. waren als Navigationsuhren reguliert und einzeln von der Seewarte in Gesundbrunnen bei Glashütte auf Chronometer-Qualität geprüft. Getragen wurden sie von den Piloten mit speziell angefertigten Lederarmbändern über der Fliegermontur.
Quelle: www.knirim.de
#50633
Geh.: sehr gut, leichte Tragespuren
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 15000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen