Search text
No.
Brand
476
Lot No. 476*
99th
Estimate  6,000 - 15,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Vacheron & Constantin à Genève, "Gérard Mercator"

, Movement No. 799030, Case No. 684509, Ref. 43050, Cal. 1120/2, 36 mm, circa 1997

An extraordinary automatic platinum double retrograde Geneva wristwatch with depiction of the map of Europe, Africa and Asia - limited edition, made to commemorate the 400th Anniversary of the death of Gerardus Mercator, humanist and the father of modern cartography. With original certificate and original guarantee


Case: platinum, glazed push back, Vacheron & Constantin platinum buckle. Dial: silvered, black enamel.

The glazed snap off back reveals the automatic movement with its 21k gold rotor and the engraved dedication "1594 - Gérard Mercator - 1994". The magnificent silvered dial shows black enamel maps of Europe, Africa and Asia. The retrograde hours and minutes are indicated by two hands that resemble the two legs of a compass as a reminder of the tool used by Gerhard Mercator.

Gerhard (Gerardus) Mercator (born March 5, 1512 in Rupelmonde, County of Flanders, died December 2, 1594 in Duisburg, United Duchies of Jülich-Cleves-Berg) was a geographer and cartographer who was known as the Ptolemy of his time - his reputation travelled as far as the Arab-Muslim parts of the world. His real name was Gerard de Kremer (Latinized Gerardus Mercator, in German also Gerhard Krämer).
Source: https://de.wikipedia.org/‌wiki/Gerhard_Mercator, as of 03/12/2019
#48268
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 6000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
476
Katalog Nr. 476*
99.
Schätzpreis  6.000 - 15.000 €

Vacheron & Constantin à Genève, "Gérard Mercator"

, Werk Nr. 799030, Geh. Nr. 684509, Ref. 43050, Cal. 1120/2, 36 mm, circa 1997

Außergewöhnliche, automatische Genfer Platinarmbanduhr mit doppelt retrograder Zeitanzeige und Weltkarte, Europa, Afrika und Asien darstellend - limitierte Edition, produziert zum Gedenken an den 400. Todestag von Gerardus Mercator, Humanist und Vater der modernen Kartographie. Mit Originalzertifikat und Originalgarantie


Geh.: Platin, Druckboden mit Werksverglasung, Vacheron & Constantin Platinstiftschließe. Ziffbl.: versilbert, schwarzes Email.

Der verglaste Druckboden ermöglicht den Blick auf das Automatikwerk mit seinem 21Kt Goldrotor und der Gedenkinschrift "1594 - Gérard Mercator - 1994". Das beeindruckende Zifferblatt ist versilbert und zeigt die Karte von Europa, Afrika und Asien in schwarzem Email. Mithilfe zweier retrograder Sektoren und zweier Zeiger, die an die Schenkel eines Zirkels erinnern, wie er auch schon von Gerhard Mercator verwendet wurde, werden die Stunden und Minuten angezeigt.

Gerhard (Gerardus) Mercator (* 5. März 1512 in Rupelmonde, Grafschaft Flandern; † 2. Dezember 1594 in Duisburg, Vereinigte Herzogtümer Jülich-Kleve-Berg) war ein Geograph und Kartograf, der schon zu Lebzeiten als der Ptolemäus seiner Zeit angesehen wurde und bis in die arabisch-islamische Welt berühmt war. Er hieß eigentlich Gerard de Kremer (latinisiert Gerardus Mercator, deutsch auch Gerhard Krämer).
Quelle: https://de.wikipedia.org/‌wiki/Gerhard_Mercator, Stand 12.03.2019
#48268
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 6000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen