Search text
No.
Brand
276
Lot No. 276
Estimate  6,000 - 10,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Isaac Thuret à Paris, Height 445 mm

, circa 1675

An important Hague-style pendule religieuse with an extremely rare 4/4 strike on two bells and simultaneous half hour/hour strike


Case: walnut and ebony-veneer, glazed front and sides, gilt brass mounts, 3 hammers / 2 bells. Dial: hinged wooden dial plate, applied gilt brass chapter ring,black velvet surround. Signature plaque covering an aperture for the controlling of the pendulum. Movm.: rectangular brass movement 95 x 115 mm, keywind, 2 large barrels, locking plate, verge escapement, cycloidal cheeks, short pendulum.

The exceptionally rare pendule religieuse by renowned French maker Isaac Thuret is equipped with two independent striking mechanisms – a rare 4/4 strike and, simultaneously, a half hour/hour strike that follows the quarter strike after approximately one minute. The two constructions are not connected through the release lever but work independent of each other.

Isaac Thuret (1649-1706) was one of the most important French makers. In 1684 Thuret became Horloger du Roi (Louis XIV) and Horloger de l'Observatoire de Paris and in 1686 was established in the Galeries du Louvre. He maintained the clocks in the Fontainebleau Palace and between 1689 and 1694 also looked after the clocks in the Paris oberservatory and of the Académie des Sciences. On January 22, 1675, he made a watch with the first balance spring for Huygens, pretending it to be his own invention. Later he apologized for this to Huygens. Thuret also made clocks with verge escapement, cycloidal cheeks and seconds-pendulum for Huygens, one of which is preserved in the Museum Boerhaave in Leiden, He also made a great number of "religieuses".
Lit.: H.B. Vehmeyer "Clocks their origin and development"
#43199
Case: very good, slightly worn
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 6000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Hilfe
 
Katalog Nr. 276 (94. Auktion)
Isaac Thuret à Paris, Höhe 445 mm, circa 1675

Bedeutende Religieuse im "Hague Stil" mit extrem seltenem 4/4 Schlag auf 2 Glocken und gleichzeitigem Halbstunden / Stundenselbstschlag
Geh.: Nussbaum und Ebenholzfurnier, verglaste Front und Seiten, vergoldete Beschläge, 3 Hämmer / 2 Glocken. Ziffbl. : scharnierte Zifferblatttafel aus Holz mit vergoldetem Messingziffernring, schwarzer Samtfond, Signaturschild vor Öffnung für Pendelkontrolle. Werk : Rechteckform Messingwerk, 95 x 115 mm, Schlüsselaufzug, 2 große Federhäuser, Schlossscheibe, Spindelhemmung, Zykloidenbacken, Kurzpendel.

Diese äußerst seltene Religieuse des bedeutenden französischen Uhrmachers Isaac Thuret verfügt über zwei unabhängig voneinander arbeitende Schlagwerke, einem seltenen 4/4 Schlag und gleichzeitig über einen Halbstunden / Stundenselbstschlag, der etwa im Abstand einer Minute dem Viertelschlag folgt. Beide Schlagwerke sind nicht über die Auslösehebel miteinander verbunden, sondern funktionieren getrennt voneinander.

Isaac Thuret (1649-1706) war einer der bedeutendsten französischen Uhrmacher. Im Jahr 1684 wurde Thuret zum königlichen Uhrmacher (Louis XIV) sowie zum Uhrmacher des Pariser Oberservatoriums ernannt. 1686 etablierte er sich in der Galerie du Louvre. Er wartete die Uhren des Schloßes Fontainebleau, sowie zwischen 1689 und 1694 die Uhren des Pariser Oberservatoriums und der Akademie der Wissenschaften. Am 22. Januar 1675 fertigte er die Uhr mit der ersten Unruhspirale für Huygens und gab es als seine eigene Erfindung aus. Später entschuldigte er sich bei Huygens dafür. Thuret fertigte ebenso Großuhren mit Spindelhemmung, Zykloidenbacken und Sekundenpendulen für Huygens, wovon eine im Boerhaave Museum in Leiden aufbewahrt wird. Er produzierte ebenso eine große Anzahl von "Religieuse" Pendulen.
Lit.: H.B. Vehmeyer "Clocks their origin and development"
Schätzpreis  6.000 - 10.000 €
Dies ist eine Losnummer aus einer früheren Auktion!

×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben für
Mindestgebot: 6000 €
Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!