Search text
No.
Brand
33
Lot No. 33
Estimate  3,200 - 4,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Jacques Clouzier à Paris, Height 620 mm

, circa 1710

A fine, rare French Louis XIV brass mounted tortoiseshell 'religieuse' table clock with half hour / hour strike


Case: oak, red tortoiseshell veneer, brass inlays, gilt brass mountings. Dial: brass, gilt, white enamelled chapter cartouches with blue Roman numerals. Movm.: rectangular-shaped brass movement, 1 hammer, 2 barrels, anchor escapement, count wheel, silk suspended short pendulum.

The wooden tortoiseshell case on four Flambeau feet is inlaid with brass ribbons and has a lavishly decorated gilt brass pelmet. The sides as well as the front have large glazed windows. The front door is flanked by two Corinthian pilasters. The finely chased gilt dial features white enamel numeral cartouches with painted blue Roman numerals and exquisitely chased flowers in the centre. Below the dial sits an applied gilt ornament showing the goddess Diana on the left and Apollo with his lyre on the right; they are surrounded by acanthus leaves and foliage scolls. Inverted bell top with a gilt and pierced gallery and gilt Flambeau finials.

Jacques Clouzier was one of the most important watch- and clockmakers in the time of Louis XIV and the Régence. He created his masterpiece in 1692 and was accepted as a member of the guild in 1700. Records show that Clouzier worked in the rue St-Antoine in 1726, later in the rue des Prêtres St-Paul, and in the old town of Paris after 1753 until his death.
Source: Tardy "Dictionnaire des Horlogers Francais", Paris 1972, page 133
Another piece is illustrated and described in: H.M. Vehmeyer "Clocks their origin and development 1320-1880", vol. II, Wilsele 2004, page 850f
#45193
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 3200 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
33
Katalog Nr. 33
Schätzpreis  3.200 - 4.000 €
Dies ist eine Losnummer aus einer früheren Auktion!

Jacques Clouzier à Paris, Höhe 620 mm

, circa 1710

Französische Louis XIV Religieuse im Schildpattgehäuse mit Halbstunden / Stundenselbstschlag


Geh.: Eiche, rotes Schildpattfurnier, Messingintarsien, vergoldete Messingbeschläge. Ziffbl.: Messing, vergoldet, weiß emaillierte Ziffernkartuschen mit blauen römischen Zahlen. Werk: Rechteckform-Messingwerk, 1 Hammer, 2 Federhäuser, Hakenhemmung, Schlossscheibe, Kurzpendel mit Fadenaufhängung.

Das mit Messingzierbändern marketierte Schildpatt-Holzgehäuse mit reich verziertem, vergoldetem Messing-Lambrequin erhebt sich auf vier Flambeaufüßen. Die Seiten haben ovale Ausschnitte und sind verglast, ebenso die Front mit flankierenden korinthischen Pilastern. Das fein ziselierte vergoldete Zifferblatt hat weiß emaillierte Ziffernkartuschen mit blau gemalten römischen Zahlen und feinst punzierten Blüten im Zentrum. Darunter eine vergoldete Zierapplikation mit der Figur der Diana links und Apollon mit Leier auf der rechten Seite, umgeben von Akanthuslaub und Rankwerk. Invertiertes Oberteil zum Verdecken der Glocke mit vergoldeter, durchbrochen gearbeiteter Galerie und vergoldeten Flambeau Fialen.

Jacques Clouzier war einer der wichtigen Uhrmacher in der Zeit der Louis XIV und Regence Epoche. Sein Meisterstück fertigte er 1692. 1700 wurde er in die Uhrmachergilde aufgenommen. 1726 arbeitete er nachweislich in der rue St-Antoine, danach in der rue des Prêtres St-Paul und in der Zeit nach 1753 bis zu seinem Tode in der Altstadt von Paris.
Quelle: Tardy "Dictionnaire des Horlogers Francais", Paris 1972, Seite 133.
Eine weitere Uhr ist abgebildet und beschrieben in: H.M. Vehmeyer "Clocks their origin and development 1320-1880", Band II, Wilsele 2004, Seite 850f.
#45193
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen


×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 3200 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)

Bitte nur 100er Schritte

 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!