Search text
No.
Brand
264
Lot No. 264
99th
Estimate  18,000 - 25,000 €
This is a lot of a former auction!

Rolex "Oyster Perpetual Milgauss, Superlative Chronometer officially certified"

, Movement No. 008193, Case No. 1636662, Ref. 1019, Cal. 1580, 37 mm, circa 1967

An automatic vintage wristwatch


Case: steel, polished bezel, screw back ref. 1019 II/67, antimagnetic protection cap, screwed "Twinlock" winding crown, steel "Oyster" bracelet ref. 78360 with endlinks stamped 580, deployant clasp VE, bracelet length 140 mm, total length 200 mm. Dial: silvered.

The movement number of this watch does not have the "M" prefix, the bridge is correctly marked with the calibre designation 1580 - it is an unusual signature but nevertheless a commonly accepted and original label.

The name "Milgauss" is a combination of "Mil" (a thousand), and "Gauss", (the unit of the measurement of magnetism). Normal movements can take up to 70-80 Gauss; anything higher comprimises their working order. Good watches usually resist magnetic fields of 60 to 70 Gauss; the 'Milgauss', however, keeps its astounding precision in magnetic fields up to 1000 Gauss. The watch's dial, ring and cover of its movement are made in soft iron forming a Faraday cage - Rolex managed to create a brilliant solution to the problem. Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777-1855) was a German astronomer, mathematician and physicist; he published several important works on celestial mechanics, geodesy, magnetism, electromagnetism and optics. The English chemist and physicist Michael Faraday (1791-1867) was known for his groundbreaking experiments in electricity and magnetism. Many of his concepts were derived directly from his experiments (such as lines of magnetic force) and became common ideas in modern physics. Gauss - a magnetic induction unit, symbol 'g' in the C.G.S. system.
A similar watch is described and illustrated in "Rolex, Collecting Wristwatches", by Osvaldo Patrizzi, 2001 Edition, pp. 352, 353.
#48338
Case: very good
Dial: very good
Movm.: very good, capable of running, cleaning recommended


×
Tell a friend ...

Send to the following address: (*)

My message
My e-mail address (*)


×
Leave bid

Minimum bid 18000 €

Your maximum bid (100 € steps)



 Send me an e-mail when I'm outbid.

You are placing a binding bid for this item!




×
Remove bid

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen

Textsuche:
Nr.:
Marke:
264
Katalog Nr. 264
99.
Schätzpreis  18.000 - 25.000 €
Dies ist eine Losnummer aus einer früheren Auktion!

Rolex "Oyster Perpetual Milgauss, Superlative Chronometer officially certified"

, Werk Nr. 008193, Geh. Nr. 1636662, Ref. 1019, Cal. 1580, 37 mm, circa 1967

Automatische Vintage Armbanduhr


Geh.: Stahl, polierte Lunette, Schraubboden Ref. 1019 II/67, Antimagnetismus-Weicheisenabschirmung, verschraubte "Twinlock"-Krone, "Oyster"-Stahlarmband Ref. 78360 mit 580er Anstößen, Schließe VE, Bandlänge 140 mm, Gesamtlänge 200 mm. Ziffbl.: versilbert.

Die Werknummer ist bei dieser Uhr ohne vorangestellte "M" Kennzeichnung, die Brücke ist korrekt mit der Kaliberbezeichnung 1580 signiert - eine seltene Markierung, aber dennoch durchaus üblich und original.

Der Name "Milgauss" leitet sich aus der Kombination "Mil" (tausend) und "Gauss" her, der Messeinheit der Magnetfeldstärke. Normale Werke können zwischen 70 und 80 Gauss verkraften; höhere Werte gefährden ihre Genauigkeit. Qualitativ hochwertige Uhren widerstehen gewöhnlich Magnetfeldstärken von etwa 60 bis 70 Gauss; die "Milgauss" jedoch erhält ihre Ganggenauigkeit bis etwa 1000 Gauss. Zifferblatt, Ring und Werksabdeckung der Uhr sind in Weicheisen gearbeitet und bilden einen Faraday'schen Käfig - Rolex fand somit eine perfekte Lösung. Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777-1855) war ein deutscher Astronom, Mathematiker und Physiker; er schrieb mehrere bedeutende Abhandlungen über Himmelsmechanik, Geodäsie, Magnetismus, Elektromagnetismus und Optik. Der englische Chemiker und Physiker Michael Faraday (1791-1867) wurde bekannt durch seine bahnbrechenden Experimente zu Elektrizität und Magnetismus. Viele seiner Kerngedanken entstanden als direkte Konsequenz seiner Experimente (z.B. zu den magnetischen Kraftlinien) und wurden zu allgemeingültigen Konzepten der modernen Physik. Gauss - Messeinheit der Magnetfeldstärke, "G" im CGS-Einheitensystem.
Eine ähnliche Uhr ist beschrieben und abgebildet in "Rolex, Collecting Wristwatches", von Osvaldo Patrizzi, Ausgabe 2001, Seiten 352 und 353.
#48338
Geh.: sehr gut
Ziff.: sehr gut
Werk: sehr gut, gangfähig, Reinigung empfohlen


×
Einem Bekannten senden ...

An folgende Adresse senden: (*)

Meine Nachricht:
Meine E-Mailadresse (*)


×
Gebot abgeben

Mindestgebot: 18000 €

Ihr Höchstgebot (100 € - Schritte)



 Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn ich überboten werde.

Sie geben hiermit ein verbindliches Gebot für diese Position ab!




×
Gebot löschen

GebotLoeschen?
GebotsLoeschBedingungen